NEWS

Leave baby wildlife alone

Wyoming Game and Fish Department urges people who come across young animals to leave newborn wildlife alone and keep a distance

5/31/2022 4:28:54 PM

Cheyenne - If you’re outside this spring, there is a good chance you’ll see newborn wildlife. These young fawns, hatchlings and other babies are charismatic and incredible to watch and photograph. At the same time, the Wyoming Game and Fish Department urges people who come across young animals to leave newborn wildlife alone and keep a distance.

“Newborn wildlife is one of the best parts of springtime in Wyoming. But please view animals from a distance and do not pet or pick them up,” said Will Schultz, Game and Fish biologist. “With all animals, the first few weeks of life are the most critical in determining their survival and interference from humans can most definitely put their lives at risk.”

Most mammals hide their young and return periodically to nurse. People who find young animals without a mother nearby often assume the newborns have been abandoned, but this is almost never the case. 

“The mother knows where her young are and will almost certainly return to care for them,” said Schultz.

Young birds sometimes fall out of or leave their nests before they are able to fly. The parents continue to care for the young bird while it is on the ground, bringing food and trying to protect the youngster while it is in this vulnerable situation.

Getting too close to newborn wildlife can be very dangerous. A mother bear, bison, moose and even deer will display aggressive behavior when humans get close to their young. Leave the area immediately if you encounter aggressive wildlife with young. 

“The best option for people who come across newborn wildlife is to leave them alone,” said Schultz. “In short, wildlife don’t need your help; they have been rearing young just fine for centuries.”

If children bring home a wild “orphan,” immediately return it to the exact spot it was found. In the rare instance when a fawn or other newborn is found and the mother is known to be dead, contact the nearest game warden, biologist or Game and Fish Regional Office; do not attempt to capture these animals yourself.

State and federal laws forbid possession of game and many non-game animals, so adopting newborn wildlife is illegal. Citations can be issued for possession of newborn wildlife with a possible penalty of up to a $1,000 fine.

(Sara DiRienzo, Public Information Officer - (sara.dirienzo@wyo.gov))

- WGFD -

  • information

Game and Fish suspends creel, possession limits at Saratoga Lake

While limits are uncapped, anglers at Saratoga Lake must possess a valid fishing license

Continue reading...






NOTICE: Game and Fish licensing systems offline July 9

All Wyoming Game and Fish Department licensing systems will be offline and unavailable beginning 7 a.m. July 9.

Continue reading...






Casper angler breaks own state record

Christopher Bobo of Casper broke his own state record for longnose sucker

Continue reading...




Gov. Gordon announces wild bison license raffle winner

The raffle, which was only open to Wyoming residents, raised $22,050.

Continue reading...




Game and Fish Commission opens public comment on four regulations

Written comments shall be accepted through 5 p.m. July 31 at public meetings or by mailing the department.

Continue reading...






Moose and bighorn sheep hunters: Game and Fish wants your input on preference points

Department taking input on a proposed changes from the Wyoming Wildlife Taskforce 
 

Continue reading...




Game and Fish continues work to reintroduce sauger above Glendo Reservoir

The fish species were once native to the North Platte River system in eastern Wyoming

Continue reading...




Email Newsletter

Email Newsletter Sign Up

Stay up to date on all Wyoming Game and Fish news either by email or text message. Click the link below to get started.

Sign Up Today

SHOP WYOMING GAME & FISH STORE   SHOP NOW!

Conserving Wildlife - Serving People