NEWS

Conservative hunting regulations approved by Game and Fish Commission for grizzly bears

The decision follows months of public meetings and discussions

 

5/23/2018 2:22:10 PM

Cheyenne - The Wyoming Game and Fish Commission set a conservative approach for Wyoming’s first grizzly bear hunting season since 1974. Grizzly bears in Wyoming have exceeded recovery criteria since 2004 and management of the bear was returned to the state last year.

The vote of the Commission was unanimous and followed the recommendation of Game and Fish personnel, the latest research, a three-state memorandum and thousands of public comments.

“I want to thank all of the people who came to today’s meeting to participate in the process. Additionally, thousands of people commented online and truly made this regulation a better regulation,” said Scott Talbott, director of the Wyoming Game and Fish Department. “Many, many people have been part of this process since last fall in helping to set a direction for all grizzly bear management, from education, conflict reduction to hunting. Wyoming is committed to ensuring a recovered population to provide opportunity for anyone who is interested in grizzly bears and this decision is part of our management.”

The draft quota inside the demographic monitoring area, which is the area experts deemed as suitable habitat is 11 bears with a very conservative one bear female sub-quota. Allowable mortality limits are developed using a pre-set formula outlined in a cooperative agreement between the states of Montana, Idaho and Wyoming.

Parts of this approved plan that were based on public input include: mandatory education for grizzly bear hunters, hunt areas and regulations to direct harvest to areas with higher potential for grizzly bear/human conflicts, a closed portion of a hunt area next to Grand Teton National Park to support the wildlife viewing tourism economy and a prohibition against hunting grizzly bears near highways.

The regulation clarifies the process to obtain a license if a hunter is placed on the grizzly bear license issuance list for hunt areas 1-6.  Hunters who are high enough on the list will be required to submit payment for their license fee and proof of a hunter education certificate within 10 days of notification.

Additionally, the regulation establishes 10 day hunt periods for those hunting in areas 1-6.

The Commission approved two regulations: Chapter 32, Regulation Governing Firearm Cartridges and Archery Equipment as well as Chapter 68, Grizzly Bear Hunting Seasons. The regulation is for grizzly bear hunting seasons and adds to another existing rule that was passed in 2017 to establish some of the specifics around grizzly bear management.

The cost of grizzly bear licenses was previously set in law by the Wyoming Legislature. It is $602 for residents and $6002 for nonresidents.

(Renny MacKay (307) 274-5870)

- WGFD -

  • information

Game and Fish launching moss ball take-back program

Aquarium owners, your moss ball could be worth $1,200.

Continue reading...






Elk hunters submitted 1,130 brucellosis samples in 2020

Brucellosis monitoring raffle winners announced

Continue reading...




Spring signals increased fish stocking efforts

The Wyoming Game and Fish Department is amping up fish stocking throughout the state. 

Continue reading...




Game and Fish Commission to meet in Jackson

The public is invited to attend in person or via ZOOM video conferencing

Continue reading...






Applications open April 1 for fall turkey, sandhill crane and beaver

Apply for Glendo, Springer special pheasant hunts permits, too

Continue reading...








Game and Fish offering a camp for educators

Learn how to bring conservation to your classroom

Continue reading...




Email Newsletter

Email Newsletter Sign Up

Stay up to date on all Wyoming Game and Fish news either by email or text message. Click the link below to get started.

Sign Up Today

SHOP WYOMING GAME & FISH STORE   SHOP NOW!

Conserving Wildlife - Serving People