Regional Offices > Sheridan Region > Sheridan Region News > Illegal carcass dumping in Sheridan Region

Illegal carcass dumping in Sheridan Region

November 02, 2018
Upcoming Region Events:


Sixth annual Bud Love youth-only pheasant hunt

Sign Up up for our newsletter

Sheridan -

Big game hunting seasons continue throughout the Sheridan Region and wildlife managers are reminding hunters there are very specific laws and regulations that apply when processing and transporting harvested game animals.

“Unfortunately, we are seeing multiple cases of big game carcasses dumped illegally along roadsides and other public areas in the Sheridan and Gillette areas,” said Sheridan Regional Wildlife Supervisor Craig Smith. “In some cases, edible portions of meat remained on the carcass and were left to rot. This type of behavior gives a negative image of hunters to members of the public who do not hunt. In addition, it violates Wyoming carcass transport and disposal regulations meant to curtail the spread of chronic wasting disease.”

CWD can be transmitted from CWD positive carcasses. To minimize the possibility of transmission, animal carcasses should remain at the site of the kill or be disposed of in an approved landfill in Wyoming once all edible portions of meat have been removed.

Hunters, especially nonresidents, are reminded that whole deer, elk and moose carcasses harvested from any area in the state cannot be transported out of Wyoming and they should review Wyoming regulations on disposal and transportation before leaving the state, as well as any regulations their home state may have when returning with their harvest. 

Game and Fish requires that hunters transport only the following items from any hunt area in Wyoming to other states, provinces or countries:

  • cut and wrapped meat

  • boned meat

  • animal quarters or other pieces with no portion of the spinal column or head attached

  • cleaned hides without the heads

  • cleaned (no meat or other tissue attached) skull plates with antlers attached

  • antlers with no meat or brain tissue attached

  • teeth

Again, the head, spine and other nervous tissue must be left at the site of the kill or disposed of in an approved landfill. Carcasses of big game animals harvested in Sheridan County may be disposed of free of charge at the Sheridan landfill until Dec. 31. The Gillette landfill allows residents 12 free dumps per year and cost is $10 per truckload after that. Out-of-county residents are allowed to dispose of carcasses for the $10 per truckload fee. The Johnson County landfill charges $3 for up to 80 pounds and $.0375 per pound above 80 pounds.

A list of statewide landfill sites can be found here. 
Please see the 2018 Wyoming Antelope, Deer and Elk Hunting Regulations brochure on page 5 for complete regulations regarding transportation, disposal, and importation of animals from known CWD areas.  Remember that you still must provide evidence of sex, species, or antler development as required in the regulations.

- WGFD -

Email Newsletter

Email Newsletter Sign Up

Stay up to date on all Wyoming Game and Fish news either by email or text message. Click the link below to get started.

Sign Up Today


Conserving Wildlife - Serving People