Register your boat for summer

New owner registration requirements


5/20/2021 8:48:19 PM

Cheyenne - Heading to the water for boating? Be sure to register your watercraft and purchase an aquatic invasive species (AIS) decal to be ready to enjoy a summer on the water. All motorized watercraft operating on Wyoming waters are required to have a current watercraft registration and AIS decal.

“Register your boat early and know you’ll be able to relax on the water,” said Jennifer Doering, the Wyoming Game and Fish Department license section manager. “You should allow 10 days from when you register your boat online to receive your registration and decals.”

An important update for 2021 allows only owners or co-owners to register their watercraft. This aligns boater registration with other Game and Fish licensing requirements. 

All motorized watercraft operating on Wyoming waters are required to have a current watercraft registration and AIS decal. Boats can be registered for one or three years; one year AIS decals are also available. Allow 10 days for arrival.  

How to register a watercraft depends on if the boat is new or simply needs a renewal. All watercraft owners may register or renew the registration via mail, as long as the proper paperwork and registration fees are included. If renewing online, keep your receipt as proof until you receive your registration and decals.

Any newly-purchased or transfer of ownership of watercraft requires a new county issued title and proof of paid Wyoming sales tax. Owners are permitted to operate their new watercraft for only 30 days after the purchase with a notarized bill of sale. Any watercraft that has changed ownership may require law enforcement to verify the Hull Identification Numbers (HIN) for accuracy prior to titling. For this situation, watercraft can be registered at Cheyenne Headquarters or any regional office by the owner or co-owner. 

If the watercraft was previously registered in another state, Game and Fish can accept a current non-Wyoming title or current non-Wyoming watercraft registration in the watercraft owner’s name at any regional office or Cheyenne Headquarters in order to register your boat in Wyoming. Any watercraft purchased outside Wyoming must undergo an AIS inspection prior to being launched.

If a watercraft is currently registered in Wyoming, a renewal can be easily completed online, at Cheyenne Headquarters or at any regional office.


(Sara DiRienzo, Public Information Officer - (

- WGFD -

  • information

Buy a Super Tag ticket in June for chance at goHUNT prize package

Each Super Tag ticket purchased in June is a chance to win a stellar prize package.

Continue reading...

Funding available for Wyoming sage grouse conservation

The Wyoming Game and Fish Commission has approved $548,000 to support the eight Local Sage Grouse Working Groups to fund conservation projects for the bird.

Continue reading...

Game and Fish to study the role of hunting and fishing in food system

Throughout June, Game and Fish will be surveying hunters and anglers about how they consume and share with others wild-harvested game meat and fish as well as foraged foods like berries and mushrooms. 

Continue reading...

Game and Fish proposes five instream flow water rights to protect native trout

The water rights are important to maintaining populations of Yellowstone Cutthroat Trout in their native range.

Continue reading...

Game and Fish Commission updates Cody Office construction budget

The Wyoming Game and Fish Commission approved a change order

Continue reading...

June 5 is Free Fishing Day

Get hooked on a new hobby this summer

Continue reading...

Be safe while boating, wear a life jacket

Paddleboarders, kayakers need one, too

Continue reading...

Email Newsletter

Email Newsletter Sign Up

Stay up to date on all Wyoming Game and Fish news either by email or text message. Click the link below to get started.

Sign Up Today


Conserving Wildlife - Serving People