CHEYENNE - Wyoming ranchers and farmers are reminded March 1 is the deadline to send in landowner coupons from the past hunting season. The coupons and corresponding affidavit must be submitted to the local game warden or the appropriate Game and Fish regional office in which their property is located by that date.
Landowners are advised that a new form for coupon reimbursement has been developed and license numbers are nolonger required. The new form is available on the Game and Fish website wgfd.wyo.gov, which can be found on the link for miscellaneous hunting forms. It can also be obtained from game wardens and Game and Fish regional offices.
Wyoming landowners receive $16 for each elk, deer or antelope harvested on their land. The coupons are included on each license. The landowner coupon program was established by the Wyoming Game and Fish Commission in 1934 to at least partially compensate landowners for forage consumed by big game on their property. The coupon program was passed into state law by the state legislature in 1939.
In 2013, the Game and Fish paid $656,304 to 2,245 landowners who submitted coupons for the 2012 hunting seasons.
(Contact: Emily Irwin (307) 777-4516)