CH 71 DRAFT 05.19.2025.6.docx

CHAPTER 71

COMMERCIALLY GUIDED FISHING BOATS

- **Section 1. Authority.** This regulation is promulgated by authority of Wyoming Statutes (W.S.) § 23-1-102, § 23-1-103, § 23-1-302(a)(xxii), § 23-3-206, § 23-3-401, § 23-6-111 and § 23-6-207.
- **Section 2. Regulation.** The Wyoming Game and Fish Commission hereby adopts the following regulation governing commercially guided fishing boats and trailers. This regulation shall become effective January 1, 2026, and shall remain in effect until modified or repealed by the Commission.
- **Section 3. Definitions.** For the purpose of this regulation, definitions shall be as set forth in W.S. § 23-3-206 and § 41-13-101 and the Commission also adopts the following definitions:
 - (a) "Operate" means as defined in W.S. § 23-3-206.
- (b) "Registrant" means the owner of a commercially guided fishing boat that has an unexpired commercially guided fishing boat registration.
- (c) "Registration sticker" means a commercially guided fishing boat registration sticker upon which appears "WYO", "GUIDE" and the calendar year for which the sticker is valid.

Section 4. Registration and Designation of Commercially Guided Fishing Boats and Trailers.

- (a) All owners of commercially guided fishing boats shall register each individual commercially guided fishing boat prior to allowing it to be operated on any waters of the state by an outfitter or professional guide who is providing fishing guide services.
- (i) Fishing guide services as defined in W.S. § 23-3-206 shall include services provided for the purpose of angling or bowfishing.
- (b) The registration fee for a commercially guided fishing boat shall be six hundred dollars (\$600) for the first boat registered by an individual owner. Additional boats owned by the same individual may be registered as follows: For every boat registered for a fee of six hundred dollars (\$600), up to four (4) additional boats may be registered at a reduced fee of one hundred dollars (\$100) per boat.
- (c) Upon payment of the commercially guided fishing boat registration fee, the registrant shall be issued a commercially guided fishing boat registration number, two (2) registration stickers and a registration certificate. One (1) registration sticker shall be designated for use on the fishing boat and one (1) registration sticker shall be designated for use on the fishing boat trailer.

CH 71 DRAFT 05.19.2025.6.docx

- (d) Each commercially guided fishing boat registration sticker shall be valid through the end of the calendar year indicated on the registration sticker.
- (e) All commercially guided fishing boat registration numbers shall consist of not more than one (1) capital letter followed by not more than four (4) Arabic numerals.
- (f) The registrant shall be responsible for displaying the commercially guided fishing boat registration number. The numbers shall be painted on or securely attached to the commercially guided fishing boat hull as described in this subsection.
- (i) The designated commercially guided fishing boat registration number and sticker shall be affixed to the boat hull on the starboard (right) side near the stern in a manner such that both are visible when the fishing boat is underway. The registration sticker shall be displayed six (6) inches left of and directly in line with the commercially guided fishing boat registration number.
- (A) On inflatable fishing boats, the designated commercially guided fishing boat registration number and registration sticker shall be displayed on a portion of the starboard (right) side, near the stern in a manner that is clearly visible when underway. The sticker may be attached to the inflatable fishing boat, a rowing frame or a placard attached to the boat or frame.
- (ii) On commercially guided fishing boat trailers, the designated commercially guided fishing boat registration number and registration sticker shall be displayed in a visible location on the right (passenger) side of the trailer tongue within eighteen (18) inches of the trailer hitch.
- (iii) Only the commercially guided fishing boat stickers which are currently valid shall be displayed.
- (iv) The designated commercially guided fishing boat registration number shall be affixed on the exterior of the watercraft and the tongue of the trailer to read from left to right. The numbers shall be:
- (A) In plain, block vertical, not slanted, letters and numerals of the same proportion;
- (B) A minimum of three (3) inches high on watercraft, excluding shading and bordering;
- (C) A minimum of two (2) inches high on boat trailers, excluding shading and bordering; and,
- (D) A color that contrasts with the color of the background, i.e., dark numbers on a light background or light numbers on a dark background.

- (g) Proof of registration shall be evidenced by a commercially guided fishing boat registration number and valid registration sticker properly affixed to the fishing boat and trailer used to transport a commercially guided fishing boat.
- (i) Proof of the current year's registration sticker purchase may be used in lieu of a properly affixed registration sticker(s) for up to thirty (30) days from the date of purchase.
- (h) Commercially guided fishing boat registration stickers shall not be transferred from the original commercially guided fishing boat.
- (i) Upon transfer of a commercially guided fishing boat to a new owner, the commercially guided fishing boat registration is no longer valid and the registrant shall remove the commercially guided fishing boat registration number and registration stickers from the fishing boat and trailer.
- (i) Following the sale or transfer of a commercially guided fishing boat or trailer to a new owner, the original owner may retain a valid commercially guided fishing boat registration certificate for transfer to another watercraft or trailer in accordance with Subsection (j) of this Section.
 - (j) Duplicate Commercially Guided Fishing Boat Stickers.
- (i) The Department shall charge a fee of twenty-five dollars (\$25) for issuance of each individual duplicate registration sticker.
- (A) Proof of duplicate registration purchase may be used in lieu of properly affixed registration sticker(s) for up to thirty (30) days from the date of purchase of a duplicate sticker.
- (ii) Following the sale or transfer of a commercially guided fishing boat or trailer to a new owner, the original owner may apply for a replacement commercially guided fishing boat registration to apply to another boat or trailer owned by the registrant. The Department shall charge a fee of fifty dollars (\$50) to transfer a commercially guided fishing boat registration number to another fishing boat and for issuance of two (2) registration stickers. The new registration stickers shall be valid only for the remainder of the calendar year for which the original registration was valid.
- (k) Designation of Private Fishing Trips. When a properly registered commercially guided fishing boat is operated on the waters of this state and is not being used for fishing guide services, the operator shall temporarily cover the commercially guided fishing boat registration stickers on the boat and trailer in a manner that the stickers are partially or completely obscured.

Section 5. Records and Reports.

- (a) Every registrant shall maintain current, complete, legible and accurate records on forms provided by the Department. The records shall include: the name of the registrant, commercially guided fishing boat registration number, name of the outfitter through which the fishing guide services were scheduled and provided, date of each individual commercially guided fishing boat trip, the name of the water fished and identification of the river segment fished.
- (i) Records shall be made available for inspection by Department personnel upon reasonable notice from the Department. Notification shall consist of personal contact or direct communication in person or by telephone with the registrant to schedule an inspection. Inspections shall be conducted during normal business hours.
- (b) Required records or legible copies shall be submitted not less than twice annually to the Department. The deadlines for record submission shall be July 15 for the period January 1 through June 30 and January 15 for the period July 1 through December 31 of the prior calendar year. Any registrant that provided no fishing guide services during the reporting period shall submit a report including the name of the registrant, the commercially guided fishing boat registration number and indicating that no services were provided.

Section 6. Revocation of a Commercially Guided Fishing Boat Registration.

- (a) A commercially guided fishing boat registration may be revoked by the Commission for the following reasons:
- (i) Failure by the registrant to keep or submit accurate and complete records required by this regulation.
- (ii) Failure of an outfitter or guide providing fishing guide services to display a valid commercially guided fishing boat registration or produce proof of registration purchase in accordance with this regulation when providing fishing guide services on any water of this state.
- (b) Any revocation of a commercially guided fishing boat registration shall be subject to contested case proceedings in accordance with Wyoming Game and Fish Commission Regulation Chapter 27, Rules of Practice Governing Contested Cases Before the Wyoming Game and Fish Commission.

WYOMING	G GAME AND FISH COMMISSION
By:	
-	Ashlee Lundvall, President

Dated: September xx, 2025