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Fish Farm and Stocking
Permit Requirements

Habitat Extension Bulletin

No. 44

Brool trout,

Angling is one of the most popular outdoor
pursuits in the state of Wyoming. Over 100,000
residents fish Wyoming’s waters each year. With
proper management and care of our water re-
source, quality fishing will remain a part of our
heritage for many years to come.

This bulletin provides residents with informa-
tion on planting fish in private waters. Also
included is permit and fee information for fish
hatchery and fish preserve operation.

Fish Planting
Landowners may purchase fish from private

hatcheries to stock privately-owned waters they
own. A list of disease-free private hatcheries
within Wyoming is available from the Game and
Fish Department.

Individuals wishing to stock private ponds or a
section of stream flowing through private prop-
erty may do so with proper authorization from
Game and Fish Department headquarters in
Cheyenne. The request form titled, “Application
for Private Fish Plant” is available from Game
and Fish district offices or department head-
quarters in Cheyenne.

Applicants must include the legal location of
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the pond or stream to be planted (range, town-
ship, section), desired species and size (catch-
able, sub-catchable, fingerling) of fish, and the
name of the hatchery supplying stock material.
Upon approval, written authorization will be
issued by the department’s chief of fisheries.

Fish Hatcheries and Fishing Preserves

Many residents may desire to carry their
fishing interests one step further by raising fish
for commercial purposes. Fish raising in Wyo-
ming can take two forms: operating a fish hatch-
ery, or managing a fishing “preserve.”

Fish Hatcheries

A commercial fish hatchery is defined by
Wyoming state statutes as an operation whereby
fish are acquired, possessed, and raised for
resale. Persons desiring to operate a commercial
fish hatchery must obtain a fish hatchery opera-
tor’s license from the Game and Fish Depart-
ment for an annual fee of $75. In addition, the
operator must post a one-time $500 surety
bond.

Hatchery operators must secure approval from
the department’s chief of fisheries each time fish
or fish eggs are imported or transferred within
the state. Once approval is secured, an importa-
tion letter (available from the department) must
accompany each shipment of fish or fish eggs
into the state. Fish and/or eggs acquired from a
source other than the department or the federal
government must be inspected by an authorized
agent to confirm healthy stock before permits to
ship across state lines will be approved.

A letter of authorization must accompany each
transported load of live fish, and/or game tags
must be attached to shipments of dead fish.
Game tags are available from the department,

and strict tag records must be maintained by the
hatchery owner. A certificate of sale (provided
by the department) must be issued to each pur-
chaser of fish and/or fish eggs upon delivery.
Monthly reports listing the sales and exchanges
of fish from the hatchery may be required by the
Game and Fish Department.

In conjunction with hatchery operations, the
owner can operate one (1) catch-out pond, not to
exceed 10 acres in size. A fee may be charged to
those persons desiring to fish the pond. Fisher-
men are not required to possess a state fishing
license when angling on catch-out ponds, but
anglers removing fish from the property must
obtain a receipt to verify the source of the fish in
possession.

When applying for a commercial hatchery
license, request the form titled: “Application for
Commercial Hatchery License.”

Fishing Preserves

A fishing preserve is similar to a fish hatchery
as fish are acquired, possessed, and reared at
the site. However, the primary reason for a
fishing preserve is to provide angling opportuni-
ties for fishermen. The yearly preserve license
fee is $50, and unlike a fish hatchery, operation
of a fishing preserve requires no surety bond.

To qualify for fishing preserve designation, the
water body must be man-made, less than 101
acres in size, and lie entirely within privately-
owned property. Two or more ponds under one
ownership, supplied by a common water source,
and located on one continuous parcel of land are
considered one body of water and require only
one license. Ponds not meeting this criteria
require additional licenses. It is unlawful to
establish fishing preserves by damming and im-
pounding natural streams, natural ponds, or
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One of the most important parts of hatchery management is
control of disease. State hatchery stock is regularly tested for
diseases that might threaten fisheries. Permilts for sale and
transport of fish are also intended lo protect Wyoming from
fish diseases and unwanted species. Walleye (previous page)
and rainbow trout (above) are routinely raised and stoclked in
Wyoming.




waters without proper
permits from state and
federal agencies.

When applying for a
preserve license, the appli-
cant must list the species of
fish to be stocked and their
source. Like fish hatcheries,
permission must be secured
from the Game and Fish
Department each time fish
are transferred within the
state or imported from out-
of-state.

The licensee may charge a
fee for angling at the pre-
serve, or, if operated as a club, dues may be
charged. A state fishing license is not required
for persons angling on a preserve. However, a
receipt for fish removed from the pond must be
issued to verify catch location.

When applying for a fishing preserve license,
request the form titled, “Application for Fishing
Preserve License.” Request forms are available
from Game and Fish district offices, or depart-
ment headquarters in Cheyenne.

Other Restrictions
Anyone raising or stocking fish should be
aware of some additional restrictions imposed by
the Wyoming Game and Fish Department.

1. No person shall plant or release any fish or
fish eggs in any public waters of Wyoming
without the consent and under the supervi-
sion of the Game and Fish Department or its
authorized personnel.

2. The importation of the following species is
prohibited:
e Lampreys (Petromyzontidae)
» Freshwater Stingray (Polamotrygonidae)
e Freshwater Shark (Carcharhinidae); Genus
Carcharhinus
e Bowfin (Amia calva)
e Gars (Legisosteidae)

Feeding trout in outdoor raceways.

¢ European Whitefish (Cyp-
rinidae) Genus (Leudiscus)

e Banded Tetra (Characidae)
(Astyanax fasciatus)

e Piranha Subfamily;
Serrasalminae, Genera
Serrasalmus, Serrasalmo,
Pygocentrus, Teddyella,
Rosseveltiella and
Pygopristus

e Candiru or Carnero
(Cetopsidae and
Trichomycteridae)

e White Perch (Percich-
thyidae Species Morone
americanus)

Freshwater Drum (Aolcdinotus grunniens)

Grass Carp (fertile) (Ctenopharyngodon idellus)

Pike Top Minnow (Belonesox belizanus)

Snakehead (Ophiociphalidae) Genus Ophio-

ceohalus and Channa

* Walking Catfish (Clariidae) Genus Clarias,
Heterophneustes, and Dinotopterus

o Tiger Fish (Hoplias malabaricus)

Other Information
Send your requests for information and appli-
cations to:
Chief of Fisheries
Wyoming Game and Fish Department
State of Wyoming
Cheyenne, WY 82006
Persons desiring specitic information regarding
Wyoming fishing rules should consult the fishing
regulations available from any Wyoming Game
and Fish Department office.

Written by Evin Oneale, through the Wyoming
Cooperative Fishery and Wildlife Research Unit.

This publication is one in a series of habitat
extension bulletins produced by the Wyoming
Game and Fish Department. Call 1-800-842-1934
Jfor additional information or assistance.
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