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STATUTORY AUTHORITY

This booklet is a summary of Wyoming Game and Fish Commission Fish-
ing Regulations (Chapter 46) for 2021 that became effective January 1,
2019 and shall remain in effect until modified or rescinded by the Com-
mission. These regulations are promulgated by authority of Wyoming
Statutes §23-1-101, §23-1-302, §23-2-206, §23-2-209, §23-3-201, §23-3-
202, §23-3-308, §23-3-401, §23-4-101, §23-4-103, and §23-6-111.

DISCLAIMER

This booklet is a condensed summary of Chapter 46 and many other
applicable wildlife laws and other important information. This summary
is in no way intended to alter content or statutory intent of those laws.
If you have any questions regarding the precise language, you can
view a copy of the Wyoming Game and Fish Department Statutes (Title
23) online*. Official Wyoming Game and Fish Commission Regulations
are available from any Game and Fish Department office and can be
viewed online at wgfd.wyo.gov/regulations#Fish.

The maps in this publication are designed to help anglers reference ap-
propriate regulations. The locations shown cannot be considered legally
proper or exact.
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*View a copy of the Wyoming Game and Fish : 7)

Department Statutes (Title 23) online at o« f>/Qz
http://www.wyoleg.gov/ J}’ORP'S\

This fishing regulation booklet was printed in December 2020.
Cover Photograph - Aarika Smith, Lake Trout, Flaming Gorge Reservoir

The Wyoming Game and Fish Department receives financial assistance in Sport Fish and Wildlife Restoration.
Undertitle VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act 0f 1973, Title Il of the Americans
with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972,
the U.S. Department of the Interior prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age,
sex, or disability. If you believe that you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility
as described above, or if you desire further information please write to: Office of Civil Rights, Department
of the Interior, 1849 C Street, NW Washington, DC 20240.
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FISHING LICENSE INFORMATION

Fishing licenses are required — for resident and nonresident anglers 14 years or older. Exceptions are waters where fishing preserve
permits, special limited fishing permits, or landowner fishing regulations apply.

Resident 12 Month Fishing License ¥
Resident Daily Fishing License *

Resident Youth 12 Month Fishing License (between 14th & 18th birthday) ¥

Nonresident 12 Month Fishing License ¥
Nonresident Daily Fishing License *
Nonresident Five Consecutive Day Fishing License *

Nonresident Youth 12 Month Fishing License (between 14th & 18th birthday) ¥

12 Month Conservation Stamp ¥

Lifetime Conservation Stamp **

Resident Lifetime Fishing License **--

Resident Lifetime Fishing License & Conservation Stamp **--
Flaming Gorge Reservoir Reciprocal Stamp

License to Seine or Trap Live Fish *

License to Deal in Live Bait *

$27.00
$6.00
$3.00
$102.00
$14.00
$56.00
$15.00
$12.50
$185.50
$311.00
$496.50
$30.00
$21.00
$69.00

V¥ The license or stamp shall be valid for twelve (12) consecutive months.

* Conservation stamp is not required for this license.

** Available from the Cheyenne headquarters or through any Department regional office.

- You must have been a resident of Wyoming continuously for a ten (10) year period immediately preceding the application date to be

eligible for lifetime licenses.

Resident

A United States citizen or legal alien who is domiciled in Wyoming
for at least one (1) full year immediately preceding making applica-
tion for a license, shall not have claimed residency in any other
state, territory, or country for any purpose during that one (1) year
period, and meets the specified in Wyoming Statutes §23-1-102 and
§23-1-107. A detailed explanation of residency requirements can be
found online at wgfd.wyo.gov/Hunting/Am-I-a-Wyoming-Resident.

Resident Youth

Under 14 do not need a license and their creel limit is the same as
those requiring licenses.

Nonresident Youth

Under 14 do not need a license if accompanied by an adult possessing
a valid Wyoming fishing license; however, the nonresident youth’s
creel limit shall be applied to and limited by the fishing license held
by the adult person in his/her company. Nonresident youth under
14 that possess a valid daily or nonresident youth annual fishing
license may capture and possess a full creel limit.

Free Lifetime Licenses

A free lifetime combination game bird, small game and fishing license
is available to any resident or honorably discharged veteran who is
over sixty-five (65) years of age and who has continuously resided
in Wyoming for at least the thirty (30) years immediately preceding
application for the license, to any disabled veteran who is one hun-
dred percent (100%) disabled as determined by the United States
department of veteran affairs and to any United States military purple
heart medal recipient with document proof thereof. The license is
valid so long as the licensee remains a Wyoming resident.

Conservation Stamp Required

Each person licensed to hunt or fish in Wyoming shall purchase a
single conservation stamp which shall be valid for twelve (12) con-
secutive months. Proof of purchase of a valid stamp shall be in the
possession of the sportsman at all times while hunting or fishing.

Persons holding the following licenses are exempt from the require-
ment to purchase a conservation stamp while exercising hunting or
fishing privileges under these licenses:

- Daily hunting or fishing license;

- Nonresident five consecutive day fishing license;

- Special limited fishing permit holders; or

- Wyoming fifty percent (50%) disabled veteran fishing license.

Persons holding the following licenses are exempt from the require-
ment to purchase a conservation stamp while exercising hunting or
fishing privileges under ANY Wyoming license. The person shall at
all times be in possession of the license allowing the conservation
stamp exemption while in the field:

- Any Wyoming pioneer hunting or fishing license;

« Wyoming one hundred percent (100%) disabled veteran combina-
tion game bird, small game and fishing license;

- Military combat general elk or general deer license;

- Military combat game bird or small game license;

. Licenses reissued to a veteran with disabilities or a person with
a permanent disability who uses a wheelchair; or,

« Resident United States Military Purple Heart Medal recipients.

Conservation stamps may be purchased from the Cheyenne head-
quarters, Department regional offices, license selling agents through-
out the state, and the Department website. A lifetime conservation
stamp may be purchased by applying to the Cheyenne headquarters
or through any Department regional office.

WYOMING GAME AND FISH
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STATEWIDE CREEL LIMITS

See pages 20-24 for complete statewide regulations. There are many
to learn to find regulations for specific waters.

Category

Trout in combination (includes brown, cutthroat, grayling, golden,
rainbow, salmon, splake, tiger trout, and other trout hybrids).
Excludes brook trout and lake trout.

Brook trout
Lake trout

Burbot (ling)

Channel catfish

Largemouth and smallmouth bass in combination
Northern pike

Sauger

Shovelnose sturgeon

Tiger muskie (sterile northern pike muskellunge hybrid)

Walleye
Whitefish
Yellow perch, black bullhead, stonecat, crappie, rock bass, bluedgill,

pumpkinseed, green sunfish, green sunfish-bluegill hybrid, fresh-
water drum in combination

exceptions to statewide regulations on pages 8-18. Refer to page 7

Creel and Possession Limits

All lakes, unless indicated otherwise: six (6)

All streams, unless indicated otherwise: Three (3) No more than
one (1) trout shall exceed sixteen (16) inches.

TOTAL STREAMS AND LAKES COMBINED: six (6)
Sixteen (16)

Six (6) No more than one (1) lake trout shall exceed twenty-four
(24) inches.

Three (3). See drainage area exceptions on pages 8, 13 and 16.
Six (6)

Six (6)

See drainage area exceptions.

Two (2)

Two (2)

One (1), all tiger muskie less than thirty-six (36) inches in length
shall be released to the water immediately.

Six (6)
Six (6)

Fifty (50)

Except as otherwise provided, no person shall harvest and keep
during any one (1) day, or have in possession, more than the number
and length of game fish specified as the creel limits listed above.
Exceptions are listed with the regulations for each drainage area
on pages 8-18.

Except as otherwise provided in the exception for an individual water,
the total combined creel and possession limit for the trout category,
regardless of the waters (streams, lakes, or a combination of both) a
person is fishing, shall not exceed six (6) trout per day or in possession.

Any fish caught that is not to be counted in the creel limit shall
be immediately released to the water with as little injury to the fish
as possible. Any fish placed on a stringer, in a container, in a live
well, or not released immediately to the water, shall be considered
to be reduced to possession of the angler and shall be killed prior
to being transported from the water of origin. No fish that has been
reduced to possession of the angler shall be released alive without
prior written approval from the Department.

You can fish without a
and Fish Department d
Week as a free fishing d
National Boating and Fi
recreational boating an
try’s national beauty. All
stream closures remain
this special week by go

All fish possessed or transported shall be keptin a manner that
species and numbers can be determined. When length limits apply,
the whole body shall remain intact (gills and entrails can be re-
moved) while in transit or in the field. Where length limits do not
apply, a piece of skin large enough to allow species identification
(at least one (1) inch square) shall remain on all fish fillets while or
in the field, except as otherwise
provided in Areas 2, 3 and 5 for
walleye and sauger harvested in
the Wind River, Bighorn River and
Tongue River drainages and Glen-
do Reservoir and in Area 4 for
lake trout harvested in Flaming
Gorge Reservoir.

There are no creel or possession limits on nongame fish. Nongame
fish may be taken by the use of legal fishing methods during any
season open for the taking of game fish.

FREE Fishing Day! June 5th, 2021

license on Free Fishing Day! Each year, the Wyoming Game
esignates the first Saturday of National Boating and Fishing
ay when anyone can fish in Wyoming without a fishing license.
shing Week is a celebration that highlights the importance of
d fishing in enhancing quality of life and preserving our coun-
fishing regulations, creel and size limits, gear restrictions, and
in effect. We hope you will take the opportunity to celebrate
ing fishing with family and friends.
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HUNTING, FISHING, AND CAMPING HEAJQUARTERS

SEEIOCATIONSITOSERVEIQURICUSTOMERS):

1351 Cy Ave 1526 Rumsey Ave 4706 So. Douglas Hwy
Casper WY 82604 Cody WY 82414 Gillette WY 82718

(307) 265-6974 (307) 527-6071 (307) 686-0221

709 N. Federal Blvd 440 N. Broadway
Riverton WY 82501 Sheridan WY 82801
(307) 856-7687 (307) 672-3418

Store Hours

Mon-Sat Sam to 9pm. / Sunday 9am to cpm.



Sponsored by the Carbon Coumjr Visitors' Couneil = = 2
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http://wyomingcarboncounty.com
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HOW TO FIND REGULATIONS FOR

SPECIFIC WATERS

Statewide regulations are on pages 3 and 20-24, but there are many exceptions to these.
Please see Exceptions to Statewide Regulations for each drainage area on pages 8-18
which are organized into the five Drainage Areas shown on the map below.

1. Locate the Drainage Area you are in on the map below and go to that page (Yellowstone
National Park and Wind River Tribal regulation information is at the bottom of this page).

2. Review the table of Creel and Possession Limits for your Area. Some limits will differ
from Creel Limits on page 3. The Area Creel and Possession Limits apply to the entire
area shown on the Area map below the table, unless a water is listed with a limit specific
to that water.

3. Check to see if the drainage area or the specific water you are fishing is listed. If listed,
the water has specific regulations you must know. Waters are listed alphabetically and
numbered. Regulations that apply to drainage areas appear in YELLOW boxes. Locations
(numbers) are indicated on maps;

» Drainage Exceptions are shown as yellow dots

» Stream Exceptions are shown with blue dots

» Other Exceptions (reservoirs, lakes and ponds) are shown as black dots
4. Review the Statewide Regulations on pages 20-24.
5. Contact a regional or statewide office if you have questions.

Yellowsto 4 N @ .
3 le'SHErIdan

Kemmerer.
@

Page
13

e,
CJ Rock:Springs
Green River. iy
‘Laramie

)
Evanston
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Yellowstone National Park Fishing Regulations

A Yellowstone National Park fishing permit is required for fishing in Yellowstone National
Park, but a state fishing license is not required. Find detailed information on the web or by
calling 307-733-7381.

Wind River Tribal Reservation Fishing Regulations

The Wind River Tribal Reservation requires anyone traveling on or within the boundaries of

the Wind River Indian Reservation to possess a Wind River Tribal Fishing /Trespass Permit
whether one is fishing or just hiking. Find tribal fishing regulations at https://www.windriv-
erfishandgame.com/ or by calling 307-332-7207.

Contact Information

DRAINAGE AREA 1
420 North Cache - PO Box 67
Jackson, WY 83001
(800) 423-4113
(307) 733-2321

DRAINAGE AREA 2
260 Buena Vista
Lander, WY 82520
(800) 654-7862
(307) 332-2688

2820 State Highway. 120
Cody, WY 82414
(800) 654-1178
(307) 527-7125

DRAINAGE AREA 3
700 Valley View Drive
Sheridan, WY 82801
(800) 331-9834
(307) 672-7418

DRAINAGE AREA 4
351 Astle Avenue
Green River, WY 82935
(800) 843-8096
(307) 875-3223

432 East Mill - PO Box 850
Pinedale, WY 82941
(800) 452-9107
(307) 367-4353

DRAINAGE AREA 5
1212 Adams Street
Laramie, WY 82070

(800) 843-2352
(307) 745-4046

3030 Energy Lane
Casper, WY 82604
(800) 233-8544
(307) 473-3400

STATEWIDE INFORMATION
WGFD Information Section
5400 Bishop Boulevard
Cheyenne, WY 82006-0001
(800) 842-1934
(307) 777-4600
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AREA 1 - REGULATION EXCEPTIONS

Area 1 means the Snake River, Salt River, Greys River, Hoback River, Gros Ventre River and Buffalo Fork River drainages and all drain-
ages west of the Teton and Snake River Ranges. Fishing is permitted as described on pages 3 and 20-24 except as otherwise specified

in this section:

Trout (in combination includes brown, cutthroat, grayling, golden,
rainbow, salmon, splake, tiger trout, and other trout hybrids).
Excludes brook trout and lake trout.

Burbot (ling)*
Northern pike*
Whitefish

All lakes within Area 1, unless indicated otherwise: six (6)

All streams within Area 1, unless indicated otherwise: three (3)
No more than one (1) trout shall exceed sixteen (16) inches; and, no
more than one (1) cutthroat trout shall exceed twelve (12) inches.

TOTAL STREAMS AND LAKES COMBINED: six (6)
Nongame fish, unlimited harvest. Must be killed immediately.
Nongame fish, unlimited harvest. Must be killed immediately.
Twenty-five (25)

* Burbot and Northern pike not currently known to occur in Area 1. Please promptly report any captured fish by calling 307-733-2321.

1. Grand Teton National Park and John D. Rockefeller Jr.

Memorial Parkway.

Fishing is permitted as described on pages 8-9 except as

otherwise specified in this section. Fishing shall be in confor-

mance with laws and regulations of the Commission, the state
of Wyoming and the regulations of the National Park Service.

« Alllakes within the John D. Rockefeller Jr. Memorial Parkway
and Grand Teton National Park, unless indicated otherwise.
» The creel limit on trout shall be six (6) per day or in pos-

session. No more than three (3) shall be cutthroat trout;
and, no more than one (1) cutthroat trout shall exceed
twelve (12) inches.

« All streams within the John D. Rockefeller Jr. Memorial
Parkway and Grand Teton National Park, unless indicated
otherwise.

» The creel limit on trout shall be three (3) per day or in
possession. No more than one (1) trout shall exceed
sixteen (16) inches; and, no more than one (1) cutthroat
trout shall exceed twelve (12) inches.

« All streams within the John D. Rockefeller Jr. Memorial
Parkway and Grand Teton National Park, excluding Buf-
falo Fork River, Gros Ventre River, Pacific Creek, Polecat
Creek and Snake River.

» Closed to fishing December 1through July 31.

» Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

» The following fishless lakes are closed to fishing through-
out the calendar year:

» Christian Ponds, Hedrick Pond, Moose Pond, Sawmill
Pond, and Swan Lake.

- Blacktail Spring Ponds.

» Closed to fishing December 1through July 31.

» Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

- Jackson Lake.

» Closed to fishing from October 1through October 31.

- Snake River proper.

See Snake River exceptions on page 9.

« Other Grand Teton National Park information.

» The use of personal watercraft is prohibited on all waters.

» The use of motorized watercraft is prohibited on all wa-
ters, excluding Jackson and Jenny lakes.

» The use or possession of live baitfish is prohibited. The
use or possession of dead baitfish or parts thereof is pro-
hibited on all waters except that it shall be permissible to
possess or use the following dead baitfish on any lake
where fishing is not restricted to the use of artificial flies
and lures only; redside shiner, speckled dace, longnose
dace, Paiute sculpin, mottled sculpin, Utah chub, Utah
sucker and commercially preserved dead baitfish.

» The use of archery equipment and spearguns is prohibited.

. Stream Exceptions

Drainage Exceptions

. Other Exceptions

8 WYOMING GAME AND FISH



I AREA 1 -

10.

1.

12.

13.

14.

. Flat Creek on the National Elk Refuge from the McBride Bridge

downstream to the posted closure sign in Teton County.

. Closed to fishing from November 1 through July 31.

« The creel limit on trout shall be six (6) per day or in posses-
sion. No more than one (1) shall be a cutthroat trout; and, all
cutthroat trout less than twenty (20) inches shall be released
to the water immediately.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies only.

- National Elk Refuge regulations restrict fishing access to
daylight hours only.

. Flat Creek from the posted closure sign on the National Elk

Refuge downstream to the west boundary of the National
Elk Refuge in Teton County.
- Closed to fishing throughout the calendar year.

. Greys River proper from Corral Creek downstream to the

Murphy Creek Bridge in Lincoln County.
- Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

. Gros Ventre River from the eastern boundary of the National

Elk Refuge downstream to the U.S. Highway 26/89/191 Bridge

in Teton County.

- National Elk Refuge regulations prohibit fishing from Decem-
ber 1through March 31.

. Jackson Lake, Grand Teton National Park in Teton County.

» Closed to fishing from October 1 through October 31.

. Jenny Lake in Grand Teton National Park in Teton County.

« Motorized watercraft in excess of ten (10) horsepower pro-
hibited.

. Lake of the Woods in Fremont County.

» Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

. Nowlin Creek on the National Elk Refuge upstream from the

“Closed Area” signs in Teton County.
- Closed to fishing throughout the calendar year.

Nowlin Creek on the National Elk Refuge from “Closed
Area” signs downstream to its confluence with Flat Creek
in Teton County.

. Closed to fishing from November 1 through July 31.

« The creel limit on trout shall be six (6) per day or in posses-
sion. No more than one (1) shall be a cutthroat trout; and, all
cutthroat trout less than twenty (20) inches shall be released
to the water immediately.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies only.

- National Elk Refuge regulations restrict fishing access to
daylight hours only.

Salt River drainage upstream from the Upper Narrows Bridge

(Wyoming Highway 238) in Lincoln County.

« All trout shall be released to the water immediately from
November 1 through December 31.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only
from November 1 through December 31.

Salt River from one quarter ('s) mile below the Highway 238
Bridge downstream to the Diversion (Murray) Fishing Access
as posted in Lincoln County.

- Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

Snake River proper from Yellowstone National Park boundary

downstream to Jackson Lake in Teton County.

« All cutthroat trout shall be released to the water immediately
from November 1 through March 31.

Snake River proper from one hundred fifty (150) feet below

Jackson Lake dam downstream to the gauging station one

thousand (1,000) feet below Jackson Lake dam in Teton

County.

« All cutthroat trout shall be released to the water immediately
from November 1 through March 31.

15. Snake River proper from one thousand (1,000) feet below
Jackson Lake dam (at gauging station) downstream to the
Wyoming Highway 22 Bridge (Wilson Bridge) in Teton County.
« All cutthroat trout shall be released to the water immediately

from November 1 through March 31.
- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

16. Snake River from Grand Teton National Park boundary in

Teton County to the Sheep Guilch boat ramp in Lincoln County.

« Use of personal watercraft is prohibited.

« Use of motorized watercraft is prohibited, except motorized
watercraft, other than personal watercraft, powered by a
single motor not to exceed one hundred fifteen (115) horse-
power are allowed from South Park Bridge (U.S. Highway
26/89/191) to West Table boat ramp from the day after Labor
Day through March 31st.

17. Snake River proper from Wyoming Highway 22 Bridge (Wil-
son Bridge) downstream to Palisades Reservoir in Lincoln and
Teton counties.

« All cutthroat trout shall be released to the water immediately
from November 1 through March 31.

18. Soda Lake in the Gros Ventre River drainage in Teton County.
« The creel limit on trout shall be one (1) per day or in posses-
sion. All trout less than twenty (20) inches shall be released

to the water immediately.
- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

Other Area 1 Regulations

Area 1 Live Baitfish

The use or possession of live baitfish in Area 1is prohibited except
that licensed live baitfish dealers may possess live baitfish native to
the drainage until the time of sale. Holders of valid seining licenses
may only seine, net, trap or spear baitfish native to the drainage for
use as dead bait, excluding the waters within Grand Teton National
Park and the John D. Rockefeller Jr. Memorial Parkway. Any baitfish
captured, except those to be held by licensed live baitfish dealers,
shall be killed immediately. Baitfish permissible for use as dead
bait in the Snake River drainage are redside shiner, speckled dace,
longnose dace, Paiute sculpin, mottled sculpin, Utah chub, Utah
sucker and commercially preserved dead baitfish.

Palisades Reservoir
The boundaries of Palisades Reservoir shall be the confluence of the
Snake and Greys rivers and McCoy Creek Bridge on the Salt River arm.

Enjoy FREE access to fish on
private land in Wyoming!

Your donations to Access Yes are used to partner with private
landowners to create Walk-In and Hunter Management Areas,
which provide no-fee fishing and hunting access opportuni-
ties across Wyoming.

Visit https://wgfd.wyo.gov/public-access on the web to
find locations and information for the current access areas.

Over 2.8 million acres are opened through these access
programs, including nearly 3,900 lake acres and nearly 100
stream miles.

Please donate to Access Yes every time
you purchase or apply for a license. All of
these funds go directly to Access ease-
ments. When we ALL GIVE a little, we ALL
GAIN a lot!
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AREA 2 — REGULATION EXCEPTIONS

Area 2 means the Wind River, Bighorn River, Shoshone River, Clarks Fork and Yellowstone River drainages. Fishing is permitted as
described on pages 3 and 20-24 except as otherwise specified in this section:

Creel and Possession Limits

Category

Trout (in combination includes brown, cutthroat, grayling, golden,
rainbow, salmon, splake, tiger trout, and other trout hybrids).
Excludes brook trout and lake trout.

Northern pike*

All lakes within Area 2, unless indicated otherwise: six (6)

All streams within Area 2, unless indicated otherwise: three (3)
No more than one (1) trout shall exceed sixteen (16) inches.

TOTAL STREAMS AND LAKES COMBINED: six (6)
Nongame fish, unlimited harvest. Must be killed immediately.

* Please promptly report any captured Northern pike by calling one of the Drainage Area 2 offices (see page 7).

1. Beck Lake Recreation Area including Beck Lake, New Cody
Reservoir and Markham Reservoir in Park County

Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

2. Bighorn Lake downstream from the causeway (Highway 14A)
in Big Horn County.
The creel and possession limits are as follows:

Trout - five (5) fish per day, ten (10) fish in possession;

Bass - ten (10) fish per day, twenty (20) in possession;
Walleye and sauger - six (6) fish per day no more than three
(3) shall be sauger, twelve (12) fish in possession, no more
than three (3) shall be sauger. All walleye and sauger must
be kept whole (gills and entrails may be removed) until the
angler is off the water or ice and done fishing for the day;
Channel catfish - six (6) fish per day or in possession;
Burbot (ling) - three (3) fish per day or in possession;
Shovelnose sturgeon - two (2) fish per day or in possession; and,
Other game species - no limit.

3. Bighorn and Wind River drainage lakes and streams in Area 2 in
Big Horn, Fremont, Hot Springs, Park and Washakie counties.

All walleye and sauger shall be kept whole (gills and entrails
may be removed) until the angler is off the water or ice and
done fishing for the day. Once off the water or ice and done
fishing for the day, walleye and sauger can be filleted for
transportation and storage. A piece of skin large enough
to allow species identification (at least one (1) inch square)
shall remain on all fish fillets while in transit or in the field.

4. Buffalo Bill Reservoir, excluding South Fork and Diamond
Creek Dike Ponds in Park County.

That portion lying west of a straight line connecting the
mouths of Rattlesnake Creek and Sheep Creek (commonly
known as Spring Creek) up the drainage to Gibbs Bridge is
closed to fishing from April 1 through July 14.

The creel limit on trout (excluding lake trout) shall be three
(3) per day or in possession. No more than two (2) shall be
cutthroat trout; and, no more than one (1) trout (excluding
lake trout) shall exceed eighteen (18) inches.

Walleye are designated as nongame fish.

All walleye caught shall be killed immediately.

5. Clarks Fork River proper from the Wyoming/Montana state
line downstream to the Shoshone National Forest Bound-
ary (at mouth of Clarks Fork River Canyon) in Park County.

Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

6. Deaver Reservoir in Park County.

The creel limit of walleye shall be three (3) per day or in
possession.

- Motorized watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horsepower
prohibited.

. East Fork of the Wind River drainage streams upstream
from the confluence with the Wind River, including Bear
Creek and Wiggins Fork, in Fremont County.

« All cutthroat trout shall be released to the waterimmediately.
- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

10.

1.

12.

East Newton Lake in Park County.

« All trout, including brook trout, shall be released to the water
immediately.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

« Motorized watercraftin excess of fifteen (15) horsepower prohibited.

. Fiddlers Lake in Fremont County.

« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

Fish Lake in Fremont County.

« The creel limit on trout shall be three (3) per day or in posses-
sion. No more than one (1) trout shall exceed sixteen (16) inches.

« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

Grace Lake in Big Horn County.

« The creel limit on brook trout shall be two (2) per day or in
possession.

- Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

Harrington Reservoir in Big Horn County.
« Motorized watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horsepower prohibited.

@. | g e, . /
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Drainage Exceptions

. Stream Exceptions . Other Exceptions
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I AREA 2 - EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE REGULATIONS N

29. Shoshone River drainage streams from Buffalo Bill Dam
downstream to Bighorn Lake in Big Horn and Park counties.
« The creel limit on trout shall be six (6) per day or in possession.
« No more than one (1) trout shall exceed sixteen (16) inches.

13. Lake Cameahwait (Bass Lake) in Fremont County.
« The creel limit on largemouth bass shall be two (2) per day
or in possession. All bass between ten (10) and fifteen (15)
inches (inclusive) shall be released to the water immediately;
and, no more than one (1) bass shall exceed fifteen (15) inches. 30

14. Lily Lake in Park County.
- Motorized watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horsepower pro-
hibited.

15. Little Moose Lake in Park County.
« The creel limit on trout shall be two (2) per day or in possession.
- Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

. South Worland Pond (also known as Golf Course Pond) in
Washakie County.
. Use of motorized watercraft is prohibited.

31. Swamp Lake in Park County.
« The creel limit on brook trout shall be two (2) per day or in
possession.
- Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

16. Luce Reservoir in Park County. « Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

- All trout shall be released to the water immediately.
- Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

32. Upper Brooks Lake in Fremont County
« The creel limit on game fish shall be six (6) per day or in
possession.

17. Luckey Pond (Chittim Reservoir) in Fremont County. » No more than two (2) game fish shall exceed twelve (12) inches.

« Closed to ice fishing. Use of internal combustion engines is
prohibited. 33. West Newton Lake in Park County.

18. Middle Fork of the Popo Agie River from the “Rise” down- : Motgri;ed watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horsepower
stream to the Bridge on the Sinks Canyon Road in Fremont prohibited.
County. 34. West Ten Sleep Lake in Big Horn County.
» Closed to fishing throughout the calendar year. « Use of motorized watercraft is prohibited.

19. North Fork of the Shoshone River drainage from Newton 35. Wind River Lake in Fremont County.
Creek downstream to Gibbs Bridge (including Newton Creek) « Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.
in Park County.
« Closed to fishing from April 1through June 30.

Other Area 2 Regulations

Area 2 Live Baitfish
The use or possession of live baitfish in Area 2 is prohibited except
as otherwise specified in this Section.

20. North Fork of the Shoshone River drainage upstream of Gibbs
Bridge in Park County.

« The creel limit on trout shall be three (3) per day, or in pos-

session. No more than two (2) shall be cutthroat trout; and,

no more than one (1) trout shall exceed eighteen (18) inches.

21. Nowood River drainage streams upstream from the conflu-
ence with the Bighorn River including Paintrock and Tensleep
Creeks in Big Horn, Johnson, and Washakie counties.

« The creel limit on trout shall be six (6) per day, or in possession.

Area 2 Live Baitfish Location A

Live baitfish may be used for bait in the waters listed in subsection (i)
provided the baitfish are obtained from a licensed live baitfish dealer
authorized to sell baitfish for use in these waters or the baitfish were
seined or trapped from the waters listed below in subsection (ii). Live
baitfish restricted to use in location A shall not be transported out

22. Ocean Lake in Fremont County.
» Closed to human presence within 1/2 mile of aeration system

from December 15 through March 10.

23. Pelham Lake in Fremont County.

« The creel limit on trout shall be two (2) per day or in posses-
sion. All trout less than sixteen (16) inches shall be released

to the water immediately.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

24. Pete’s Pond in Fremont County.

« The creel limit on trout shall be three (3) per day or in pos-

session.
« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

25. Renner Reservoir in Big Horn County.

« The creel limit on largemouth bass shall be six (6) per day

of the designated wild caught live baitfish possession area defined
in subsection (iii).
(i) Live baitfish may be used in the fol- Montana

lowing waters: Wardell Reservoir, Bighorn ~_DEAVER Wyoming

2 - > RESERVOIR BIGHORN
Lake in Big Horn County; Bighorn River; e CAKE
Deaver Reservoir in Park County; Har- sHosHONE R.

rington Reservoir in Big Horn County;

Shoshone River downstream from Pen- Penrose Dam
rose Dam; Wind River downstream from WARDELL/
Boysen Reservoir; Boysen Reservoir; HARRINGTON
. . RESERVOIRS
Ocean Lake in Fremont county; and, Pilot &
Butte Reservoir. BASIN

(ii) A holder of a valid seining license may
seine, net, trap or spear baitfish from the fol-

lowing waters: Wind River and Bighorn River
drainages downstream from the western bound- A
ary of the Wind River Reservation.

(iii) The designated wild caught live baitfish
possession area for location A is the Wind River
and Bighorn River drainages downstream from the
western boundary of the Wind River Reservation.

or in possession. No more than one (1) bass shall exceed
twelve (12) inches.

- Motorized watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horsepower
prohibited.

26. Shell Creek drainage streams upstream from the confluence
with the Bighorn River in Big Horn County.
« The creel limit on trout shall be six (6) per day, or in possession.

WEDDING OF

Western Boundary THE WATERS

Wind River Indian
Reservation

27. Sand Mesa Reservoirs No. 1 and 2 in Fremont County.
« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

DUBOIS ©
28. Shoshone Lake and Shoshone Creek in Fremont County. y PILOT BUTTE
. Closed to fishing from September 1through June 14. RESERVOIR BOYSEN
- - . OCEAN RESERVOIR
« The creel limit on brook trout shall be six (6) per day or in 0 .
; TORREY, RING,
possession. AND TRAIL LAKES

RIVERTON
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AREA 3 — REGULATION EXCEPTIONS

Area 3 means the Niobrara River, Cheyenne River, Stockade-Beaver Creek, Sand Creek, Belle Fourche River, Little Missouri River, Little
Powder River, Powder River, Tongue River, and Little Bighorn River drainages. Fishing is permitted as described on pages 3 and 20-24
except as otherwise specified in this section:

All lakes within Area 3, unless indicated otherwise: six (6)
All streams within Area 3, unless indicated otherwise: six (6)

Trout (in combination includes brown, cutthroat, grayling, golden,
rainbow, salmon, splake, tiger trout, and other trout hybrids).

Excludes brook trout and lake trout.

Northern pike

TOTAL STREAMS AND LAKES COMBINED: six (6)

All waters within Area 3, with the exception of waters within
Keyhole State Park: Nongame fish, unlimited harvest. Must be
killed immediately.

10.

".

12.

. Kleenburn Ponds in Sheridan County.

. Middle Fork of Powder River, from Bachaus Creek

. Black Elk Pond in Weston County.

« Watercraft prohibited.

. Black Hills Power and Light Osage Pond in Weston County.

« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

. Bull Creek in Sheridan County.

« All trout (except brook trout) shall be released to the
- water immediately.
- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

. Cook Lake in Crook County.

« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

. Gillette Fishing Lake in Campbell County.

« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

. Healy Reservoir in Johnson County.

- Motorized watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horsepower
prohibited.

. Keyhole Reservoir, all waters within the boundaries of Keyhole

State Park in Crook County.

« The creel limit on northern pike shall
be three (3) per day or in possession.
All northern pike less than thirty (30)
inches in length shall be released to the
water immediately.

« Use of internal combustion engines is pro-
hibited.

downstream to the Bar C Road (Johnson County Road

238) on the Bar C Ranch in Johnson County.

« The creel limit on trout shall be three (3) per day or in
possession. No more than one (1) trout shall exceed
sixteen (16) inches.

Muddy Guard Reservoir No. 1in Johnson County.

« The creel limit on trout shall be one (1) per day or in
possession. All trout less than twenty (20) inches shall
be released to the water immediately.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and
lures only.

Muddy Guard Reservoirs in Johnson County.
« Motorized watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horse-
power prohibited.

North Sayles Reservoir #1 (on Bud Love WHMA)

in Johnson County.

« The creel limit on trout shall be one (1) per day
or in possession.

« All trout less than twenty (20) inches shall be re-
leased to the water immediately.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

13.

14.

15.

16.

. Stream Exceptions

North Tongue River drainage upstream from the mouth of

Bull Creek in Sheridan County.

« All trout (except brook trout) shall be released to the water
immediately.

- Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

Park Reservoir in Johnson and Sheridan counties.
- Motorized watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horsepower pro-
hibited.

Ranchester City Reservoir in Sheridan County.
- Watercraft prohibited.

Sand Creek, from the forest service boundary above Ranch

“A” downstream to Interstate 90 in Crook County.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only
on the Ranch “A” Public Fishing Area.

. Sibley Lake in Sheridan County.
- Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

Drainage Exceptions {kanvilla T
o oI (ISK]

. Other Exceptions
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B AREA 3 -

18. Tongue River drainage lakes and streams in Area 3 in Johnson
and Sheridan counties.

- All walleye and sauger shall be kept whole (gills and entrails
may be removed) until the angler is off the water or ice and
done fishing for the day. Once off the water or ice and done
fishing for the day, walleye and sauger can be filleted for
transportation and storage. A piece of skin large enough
to allow species identification (at least one (1) inch square)
shall remain on all fish fillets while in transit or in the field.

19. Tie Hack Reservoir in Johnson County.
« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

Other Area 3 Regulations

Area 3 Live Baitfish
The use or possession of live baitfish in Area 3 is prohibited except
as otherwise specified in this section:

Area 3 Live Baitfish Location A

Live baitfish may be used for bait in the waters listed in subsection (i)
provided the baitfish are obtained from a licensed live baitfish dealer
authorized to sell baitfish for use in these waters or the baitfish were
seined or trapped from the waters listed below in subsection (ii). Live
baitfish restricted to use in location A shall not be transported out
of the designated wild caught live baitfish possession area defined
in subsection (iii).

(i) Live baitfish may be used in the following waters: Keyhole
Reservoir; and, Belle Fourche River proper.

(i) A holder of a valid seining license may seine, net, trap or spear
baitfish from the following waters: Keyhole Reservoir; and, Belle
Fourche River proper.

(iii) The designated wild caught live baitfish possession area for
location A is the Belle Fourche River drainage and the Little Powder
River drainage upstream of the confluence of Cottonwood Creek
in Campbell County.

Area 3 Live Baitfish Location B
Live baitfish may be used for bait in the waters listed in subsection
(i), provided the baitfish are obtained from a licensed live baitfish
dealer authorized to sell commercially produced live baitfish as
described in the live baitfish dealer regulations at https:/wgfd.wyo.
gov/Fishing-and-Boating/Forms-and-Applications.

(i) Commercially produced live baitfish may be used in the fol-
lowing waters: Lake DeSmet; Healy Reservoir in Johnson County;
and, LAK Reservoir.

Area 3 Live Baitfish Location C

The use or possession of live baitfish in Area 3C is prohibited. A
holder of a valid seining license may seine, net, trap or spear bait-
fish in the Tongue River and Goose Creek (Sheridan and Johnson
counties) drainages upstream of the Wyoming-Montana state line.
Any live baitfish captured shall be killed immediately and used only
as dead bait.

AREA 4 - REGULATION EXCEPTIONS

Area 4 means the Green River, Little Snake River, Bear River and Great Divide Basin drainages. Fishing is permitted as described on

pages 3 and 20-24 except as otherwise specified in this section:

Trout (in combination includes brown, cutthroat, grayling, golden,
rainbow, salmon, splake, tiger trout, and other trout hybrids).
Excludes brook trout and lake trout.

Burbot (ling)
Northern pike*
Walleye
Yellow perch*

Creel and Possession Limits

All lakes within Area 4, unless indicated otherwise: six (6)

All streams within Area 4, unless indicated otherwise: three (3)
No more than one (1) trout shall exceed sixteen (16) inches.

TOTAL STREAMS AND LAKES COMBINED: six (6)

Nongame fish, unlimited harvest. Must be killed immediately.
Nongame fish, unlimited harvest. Must be killed immediately.
Nongame fish, unlimited harvest. Must be killed immediately.
Nongame fish, unlimited harvest. Must be killed immediately.

* Please promptly report any captured Northern pike or any yellow perch captured in waters other than Woodruff Reservoir by calling

one of the Drainage Area 4 offices (see page 7)

“Must be killed” regulations above pertain to all fish, regardless of size. Persons improperly disposing of unwanted nongame fish may
be subject to Wyoming littering statutes. Appropriate methods of disposal of dead fish include eviscerating and sinking fish in the water

of capture and disposal at home or in any approved landfill.

1. Bear River drainage streams including Smiths Fork and Salt
Creek (also called Thomas Fork) drainages, unless indicated
otherwise, in Lincoln and Uinta counties.

« The creel limit on trout shall be six (6) per day or in possession.
No more than three (3) shall be cutthroat trout; and, no more
than one (1) cutthroat trout shall exceed sixteen (16) inches.

2. Burnt Lake in Sublette County.
« Closed to fishing from November 15 through April 30.

3. Currant Creek in Sweetwater County.
« Closed to fishing from April 1through June 30.
« All cutthroat trout shall be released to the water immediately.
« Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

4. Dollar Lake in Sublette County.
« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

5. Fall Creek in Sublette County.
« Closed to fishing from May 1 through June 30 from Burnt
Lake downstream five hundred (500) yards.

2021 WYOMING FISHING REGULATIONS
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Il AREA 4 -

14

. Stream Exceptions

. Other Exceptions

. Fish Creek drainage (of South Piney Creek) on the Bridger-

Teton National Forest upstream from the forest boundary
in Sublette County.
- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

. Flaming Gorge Reservoir in Sweetwater County.

« The creel limit on trout (excluding lake trout) shall be four
(4) per day or in possession. No more than three (3) shall be
kokanee salmon.

« The creel limit on lake trout shall be twelve (12) per day,
twenty-four (24) in possession. No more than one (1) lake
trout in possession shall exceed twenty-eight (28) inches.

« All kokanee salmon caught from September 10 through No-
vember 30 shall be released to the water immediately.

« All lake trout shall be kept whole (gills and entrails may be
removed) until the angler is off the water or ice and done
fishing for the day. Once off the water or ice and done fish-
ing for the day, lake trout can be filleted for transportation
and storage. A piece of skin large enough to allow species
identification (at least one (1) inch square) shall remain on all
fish fillets while in transit or in the field.

- All smallmouth bass shall be returned to the water imme-
diately.

- The possession or use of gaffs for landing fish is prohibited.

« See Flaming Gorge Reciprocal Stamp section on page 15.

. Flume Creek below Fontenelle Reservoir in Sweetwater County.

. Closed to fishing throughout the calendar year.

Drainage Exceptions

10.

.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE REGULATIONS I

. Green River from Warren Bridge (Highway 191) downstream

to the Swain’s (Wood’s) Bridge, Sublette County Road 23-179
in Sublette County.
- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

Green River from Fontenelle Dam downstream approximately
one (1) mile to the U.S. Geological Survey gauge station (cable
crossing) at the Weeping Rocks Campground in Sweetwater
County.

» Closed to fishing from October 1through December 31.

Green River from the Sweetwater County Road 8 Bridge, 4.5
miles below Fontenelle Dam, downstream to the Big Sandy
River in Sweetwater County.

« The creel limit on trout shall be one (1) per day or in posses-
sion. All trout less than twenty (20) inches shall be released
to the water immediately.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

Green River Lakes (upper and lower lakes) in Sublette County.
- Use of personal watercraft is prohibited.

Halfmoon Lake in Sublette County.

« The creel limit on lake trout shall be two (2) per day or in
possession. No more than one (1) lake trout shall exceed
twenty-four (24) inches.

Ham’s Fork River from Viva Naughton Reservoir downstream
to Kemmerer City Reservoir in Lincoln County.
« Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

Jim Bridger Pond in Sweetwater County.

« Closed to ice fishing.

- Watercraft prohibited inside that area inside the pumphouse
booms.

- Motorized watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horsepower
prohibited.

Kemmerer City Reservoir in Lincoln County.

« The creel limit on trout shall be three (3) per day or in posses-
sion. No more than one (1) trout shall exceed sixteen (16) inches.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

« Use of motorized watercraft is prohibited.

Kendall Warm Springs and Kendall Warm Springs Creek in
Sublette County.
- Closed to fishing throughout the calendar year.
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18.

19.

20.
21.

22,

23.
24.
25.

26.

27.

28.

29.

30.

31.

32.

33.

34.

35.

LaBarge Creek, five hundred (500) feet downstream of the fish
migration barrier located between Big Fall Creek and Turkey
Creek on the Bridger-Teton National Forest in Lincoln County.
- Closed to fishing throughout the calendar year.

Lake Alice in Lincoln County.

« Thecreellimit on trout shall be six (6) per day or in possession. No
more than two (2) cutthroat trout shall exceed twelve (12) inches.

- Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

Little Soda Lake in Sublette County.
« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

Meadow Creek in Sublette County.
« Closed to fishing from May 1 through June 30.

Meadow Lake in Sublette County.

« The portion east of the Game and Fish Department markers
shall be closed to fishing from May 1through June 30. The entire
lake is closed to fishing from November 21 through April 30

Middle Piney Lake in Sublette County.
« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

New Fork Lakes in Sublette County.
- Use of personal watercraft is prohibited.

New Fork River above the New Fork Lakes in Sublette County.
. Closed to fishing from September 1 through April 30.

New Fork River from the Mesa Road Bridge (Sublette County
Road 23-123) downstream to the confluence with the East
Fork River in Sublette County.

- Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

North Cottonwood Creek drainage (including Maki Creek) on
the Bridger-Teton National Forest upstream from the forest
boundary in Sublette County.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

North Horse Creek and Lead Creek drainage on the Bridger-
Teton National Forest upstream from the forest boundary in
Sublette County.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

North Piney Creek drainage on the Bridger-Teton National
Forest upstream from the forest boundary in Sublette County.
- Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

North Piney Lake and upstream tributaries in Sublette County.

« Closed to fishing from June 1 through July 15.

« The creel limit on cutthroat trout shall be one (1) per day or
in possession.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

Pinedale Children’s Pond in Sublette County.
« It shall be unlawful for persons fourteen (14) years of age
and older to fish.

Rock Crib Lake in Sublette County.
« The creel limit on brook trout shall be six (6) per day or in
possession.

Salt Creek (also called Thomas Fork) drainage (including
Raymond Creek) upstream from the Wyoming-ldaho state
line in Lincoln County.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

Smiths Fork drainage upstream from the Hobble Creek con-
fluence (including Hobble Creek drainage) in Lincoln County.
- Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

Soda Lake north of Pinedale in Sublette County.

« Closed to fishing from November 15 through April 30.

« The creel limit on trout (including brook trout) shall be one
(1) per day or in possession.

. Use of personal watercraft is prohibited.

« Use of internal combustion motors is prohibited from May 1
through May 31.

36. South Cottonwood Creek drainage, excluding Soda Lake
ponds, on the Bridger-Teton National Forest upstream from
the forest boundary in Sublette County.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

37. South Horse Creek drainage on the Bridger-Teton National
Forest upstream from the forest boundary in Sublette County.
- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

38. State Hospital Pond in Uinta County.
. State Hospital Pond is open only to patients of the Wyoming
State Hospital.

39. Viva Naughton Reservoir in Lincoln County.
« The creel limit on trout shall be six (6) per day or in possession.
No more than one (1) trout shall exceed twenty (20) inches.
« Upstream face of Viva Naughton Dam closed to fishing
throughout the calendar year (no one shall fish from the dam).

40. Wagon Creek Lake in Sublette County.
« The creel limit on brook trout shall be six (6) per day or in
possession.

Other Area 4 Regulations

Area 4 Live Baitfish

The use or possession of live baitfish in Area 4 is prohibited. A holder
of a valid seining license may seine, net, trap or spear baitfish in the
Green and Bear River drainages, excluding Kendall Warm Springs,
Halfmoon Lake, Little Halfmoon Lake, Burnt Lake, the Bitter Creek
drainage upstream of Rock Springs city limits and the Big Sandy
drainage upstream of Big Sandy Reservoir. Any live baitfish captured
shall be killed immediately and used only as dead bait.

Flaming Gorge Reservoir Reciprocal Stamp
A person possessing a valid Utah resident fishing license and a
valid Wyoming reciprocal fishing stamp, may fish in the Wyoming
portions of Flaming Gorge Reservoir and may take creel and pos-
session limits from Wyoming waters of the reservoir in compliance
with Wyoming fishing regulations. The fee for a Wyoming reciprocal
stamp shall be thirty dollars ($30).

A person possessing a valid Wyoming resident fishing license and
a valid Utah reciprocal fishing stamp, may fish in the Utah portions
of Flaming Gorge Reservoir and may take creel and possession
limits from Utah waters of the reservoir in compliance with Utah
fishing regulations.

E
@
<
IS
1S
0]
o
8
e

2021 WYOMING FISHING REGULATIONS

EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE REGULATIONS N

15



AREA 5 - FISHING REGULATIONS

Area 5 means the North Platte River, Sweetwater River and South Platte River drainages. Fishing is permitted as described on pages 3
and 20-24 except as otherwise specified in this section:

Category Creel and Possession Limits

All lakes within Area 5, unless indicated otherwise: six (6)

All streams within Area 5, unless indicated otherwise: three (3)
No more than one (1) trout shall exceed sixteen (16) inches.

TOTAL STREAMS AND LAKES COMBINED: six (6)

All lakes within Area 5, unless indicated otherwise: six (6)

Trout (in combination includes brown, cutthroat, grayling, golden,
rainbow, salmon, splake, tiger trout, and other trout hybrids).
Excludes brook trout and lake trout.

Brook trout All streams within Area 5, unless indicated otherwise: sixteen (16)
TOTAL STREAMS AND LAKES COMBINED: sixteen (16)

Burbot (ling)* Nongame fish, unlimited harvest. Must be killed immediately.

Northern pike Nongame fish, unlimited harvest. Must be killed immediately.

* Please promptly report any captured burbot by calling one of the Drainage Area 5 offices (see page 7).

1. A&M Reservoir in Sweetwater County. 6. Crystal Reservoir in Laramie County.
« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited. - Motorized watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horsepower
2. Alcova Reservoir in Natrona County. prohibited.
- The creel limit on walleye shall be twelve (12) per day or in 7. Dome Rock Reservoir in Carbon County.
possession. « The creel limit on trout shall be one (1) per day or in posses-
« The two (2) fish limit on walleye taken by spear gun (page sion. All trout less than twenty (20) inches shall be released
21) shall not apply. to the water immediately.
3. Bryan Stock Trail Pond in Natrona County. - Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.
- Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited. 8. Edness Kimball Wilkins State Park, all ponds within the park
4. Bump Sullivan Reservoir in Goshen County. in Natrona County. )
« Closed to fishing from November 1 through the last day of » Closed to fishing, seining, and trapping throughout the cal-
February. endar year.

« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.
5. Crow Creek, Dale Creek, Horse Creek and Lodgepole Creek

drainages on the Medicine Bow-Routt National Forest (Pole
Mountain District) upstream from the forest boundary in Al-
bany County. .
« The creel limit on brook trout shall be six (6) per & . odiP)
day or in possession. i :
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10.
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12.

13.

14.

15.

16.
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. Encampment River, from Highway 230 at Riverside down-

stream to its confluence with the North Platte River in Carbon
County.
- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

Festo Lake in Platte County.
« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

Glendo Reservoir including the North Platte River down-
stream from the bridge on Highway 319 (near Orin Junction)
to Glendo Reservoir in Platte County.

- All walleye less than fifteen (15) inches shall be released to
the water immediately.

- All walleye must be kept whole (gills and entrails may be re-
moved) until the angler is off the water or ice and done fishing
for the day. Once off the water or ice and done fishing for the
day, walleye can be filleted for transportation and storage. A
piece of skin large enough to allow species identification (at
least one (1) inch square) shall remain on all fish fillets while
in transit or in the field.

« The Special Fishing Contest Provision applies (see Fishing
Contest free Period on page 22).

« No fishing contests shall be approved from June 15 through
June 30 during each calendar year.

Grayrocks Reservoir in Platte County.

« The area between the spillway and floating regulatory buoys
or as designated by regulatory signing is closed to fishing
and watercraft throughout the calendar year.

« The creel limit on largemouth and smallmouth bass in com-
bination shall be three (3) per day or in possession. No more
than one (1) shall exceed twelve (12) inches.

- Please promptly report any captured Northern pike by call-
ing 307-745-4046.

Hawk Springs Reservoir in Goshen County.
- Watercraft prohibited from December 1 - February 15.

Huck Finn Pond in Albany County.
« It shall be unlawful for persons fourteen (14) years of age
and older to fish.

Johnson Creek Reservoir in Albany County.
- Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

Lake Absarraca (Country Club Lake) in Laramie County.

- All largemouth and smallmouth bass less than fifteen (15)
inches shall be released to the water immediately.

- Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

EXCEPTIONS
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17. Leazenby Lake in Albany County.
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19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

Lower North Crow Reservoir (North Crow Diversion Reservoir)
in Laramie County.
« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

Mcintosh Pond 2 (Western Nuclear Pond) in Fremont County.
- Use of motorized watercraft is prohibited.

Medicine Bow National Forest including all lakes within the
boundaries of Medicine Bow National Forest, except Sand
Lake, Turpin Reservoir, Lake Owen, Rob Roy Reservoir and
Hog Park Reservoir, in Carbon and Albany counties.

« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

North Platte River from Colorado-Wyoming state line down-
stream to the Saratoga Inn Bridge in Carbon County.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.
« Use of motorized watercraft is prohibited.

North Platte River from Kortes Dam downstream to the con-

fluence with Sage Creek (Miracle Mile) in Carbon County.

« The creel limit on trout shall be three (3) per day or in pos-
session. No more than one (1) trout shall exceed sixteen (16)
inches.

« The creel limit on walleye shall be twelve (12) per day or in
possession.

North Platte River from vehicle bridge eight tenths (0.8) of
a mile downstream from Pathfinder Dam downstream to
Alcova Reservoir in Natrona County.

« The creel limit on trout shall be one (1) per day or in posses-
sion. All trout less than twenty (20) inches shall be released
to the water immediately.

« Fishingis permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

North Platte River from Gray Reef Dam downstream, eight (8)
miles to the upstream boundary of the Lusby Public Fishing
Area in Natrona County.

« The creel limit on trout shall be one (1) per day or in posses-
sion. All trout less than twenty (20) inches shall be released
to the water immediately.

- Fishing is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only.

« That portion lying between the “Closed Area” signs at the
gauge cable crossings (the first cable crossing is approxi-
mately 700 yards downstream from Gray Reef Dam) is closed
to fishing from April 1through April 30.

2021 WYOMING FISHING REGULATIONS
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25. North Platte River to include that area between the Dave
Johnston Power Plant Public Access Area and the Dave John-
ston Power Plant in Converse County.

- Watercraft prohibited.

26. North Platte River to include only that area between Glendo
Dam and Glendo Power plant in Platte County.
« Use of motorized watercraft is prohibited.

27. Packers Lake in Goshen County.
- All largemouth and smallmouth bass less than fifteen (15)
inches shall be released to the water immediately.
« Motorized watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horsepower
prohibited.

28. Rawlins City Reservoir in Carbon County.
- Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

29. Sloans Lake in Laramie County.
- All largemouth and smallmouth bass less than fifteen (15)
inches shall be released to the water immediately.
- Motorized watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horsepower
prohibited.

30. South Springer Reservoir in Goshen County.
« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

31. Springer Reservoir in Goshen County.
« Closed to fishing from November 1through February 15.

32. Turpin Reservoir in Carbon County.
« Motorized watercraft in excess of fifteen (15) horsepower
prohibited.

33. Upper North Crow Reservoir in Laramie and Albany counties.
« Use of internal combustion engines is prohibited.

34. Wheatland Reservoir No. 3 Canal from the headgate in Reser-
voir No. 2 to the mouth in Reservoir No. 3 in Albany County.
- Watercraft prohibited.

Other Area 5 Regulations

Area 5 Live Baitfish
The use or possession of live baitfish in Area 5 is prohibited except
as specified below.

Area 5 Live Baitfish Location A

Live baitfish may be used for bait in the waters listed in subsection (i)
provided the baitfish are obtained from a licensed live baitfish dealer
authorized to sell baitfish for use in these waters or the baitfish were
seined or trapped from the waters listed below in subsection (ji). Live
baitfish restricted to use in location A shall not be transported out
of the designated wild caught live baitfish possession area defined
in subsection (iii).

(i) Live baitfish may be used in the following waters: Bump Sullivan
Reservoir; Festo Lake; Grayrocks Reservoir; Guernsey Reservoir;
Hawk Springs Reservoir; North Platte River proper downstream from
Glendo Dam to the Wyoming-Nebraska state line; Packers Lake;
Rock Lake in Platte County; Springer Reservoir; and, Wheatland
Reservoir #1in Platte County.

(ii) A holder of a valid seining license may seine, net, trap, or spear
baitfish from the following waters: Bump Sullivan Reservoir; Festo
Lake; Grayrocks Reservoir; Guernsey Reservoir; Hawk Springs
Reservoir; North Platte River proper from Glendo Dam downstream
to the Wyoming-Nebraska state line; Packers Lake; Rock Lake
in Platte County; Springer Reservoir; Wheatland Reservoir #1 in
Platte County; and, Canals and ditches within Wyoming that are in
the Interstate and Fort Laramie canal systems in Goshen County
downstream from the Whalen Diversion on the North Platte River.

(iii) The designated wild caught live baitfish possession area for
location A is the North Platte River drainage below Glendo Dam,
excluding all locations in the South Platte River drainage and all
locations in Albany County.

EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE REGULATIONS I

Area 5 Live Baitfish Location B

Live baitfish may be used for bait in the waters listed in subsection (i)
provided the baitfish are obtained from a licensed live baitfish dealer
authorized to sell baitfish for use in these waters or the baitfish were
seined or trapped from the waters listed below in subsection (ii). Live
baitfish restricted to use in location B shall not be transported out
of the designated wild caught live baitfish possession area defined
in subsection (iii).

(i) Live baitfish may be used in the following waters: Pathfinder
Reservoir; Alcova Reservoir; Gray Reef Reservoir; Glendo Reservoir;
Kortes Reservoir; and, North Platte River proper between Seminoe
Dam and Glendo Dam, except eight (8) river miles from Gray Reef
Dam to the upstream boundary of the Lusby Public Fishing Area and
from the vehicle bridge eight tenths (0.8) of a mile downstream from
Pathfinder Dam downstream to Alcova Reservoir.

(ii) A holder of a valid seining license may seine, net, trap, or spear
baitfish from the following waters: North Platte River drainage from
Seminoe Dam downstream to Glendo Dam.

(iii) The designated wild caught live baitfish possession area for
location B is the North Platte River drainage below Seminoe Dam
downstream to Glendo Dam.

Live baitfish may be used for bait in the waters listed in subsection (i)
provided the baitfish are obtained from a licensed live baitfish dealer
authorized to sell baitfish for use in these waters or the baitfish were
seined or trapped from the waters listed below in subsection (ii). Live
baitfish restricted to use in location C shall not be transported out
of the designated wild caught live baitfish possession area defined
in subsection (iii).

(i) Live baitfish may be used in the following waters: Seminoe
Reservoir; North Platte River from Seminoe Reservoir to Interstate
Highway 80.

(ii) A holder of a valid seining license may seine, net or trap baitfish
from the following waters: North Platte River drainage from Interstate
Highway 80 downstream to Seminoe Dam.

(iii) The designated wild caught live baitfish possession area for
location C is the North Platte River drainage from Interstate Highway
80 downstream to Seminoe Dam.
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STATEWIDE REGULATIONS

See page 3 for Statewide Creel Limits. There are many exceptions to the following Statewide Regulations. Refer to page 7 to learn to
find regulation exceptions for specific waters and drainages on pages 8-18.

Terms and Definitions

Aquaria

Means any enclosures used to contain organisms that prevent es-
cape. Aquaria shall have a closed system of water circulation with
no risk of contacting the surface waters of this state.

Archery Equipment
Means crossbows, longbows, recurve bows, compound bows and
arrows.

Artificial Flies and Lures

Means manmade flies and lures. Artificial lures are single devices
regardless of the number of hooks, including spoons, spinners and
plugs made of metal, plastic, wood or other non-edible materials,
or plastic products made to resemble worms, eggs, fish or other
aquatic organisms. Artificial flies includes flies, streamers, jigs, or
poppers tied from such materials as thread, feathers, hair or tinsel.
Artificial flies and lures do not include living or dead organisms or
edible parts thereof, natural or prepared organic food stuffs, or
chemical attractants, regardless if the chemical attractant is added
in the manufacturing process or applied afterward.

Artificial Light

Means any man-made light or lighting device.

Aquatic Invasive Species include:

- Zebra and quagga mussel (GENUS Drejssena);

« New Zealand mudsnail (Potamopyrgus antipodarum);

- Asian clam (Corbicula fluminea);

« Rusty crayfish (Orconectes rusticus);

- Brook stickleback (Culaea inconstans);

- Bighead, silver and largescale silver carp (GENUS Hypophthal-
michthys);

- Black carp (Mylopharyngodon piceus);

« Snakehead (GENERA Channa and Parachanna);

- Hydrilla (Hydrilla verticillata);

- Eurasian watermilfoil (Myriophyllum spicatum); and

« Curly pondweed (Potamogeton crispus)

Bait

Means living or dead organisms or edible parts thereof, natural or
prepared organic food, and chemical attractants used in the taking
of fish.

Baitfish
Means nongame fish not designated as aquatic invasive species
that were collected or purchased for use as bait.

Business Establishment
Means a single business location with an associated physical ad-
dress designated on the live baitfish dealer’s license.

Commercially Produced Live Baitfish
Means adult fathead minnows that were propagated and reared in
a Department approved private fish hatchery.

Creel Limit

Means the total number of game fish a person may harvest and re-
duce to possession during any one (1) day regardless of the method
or methods of harvest.

Dates
Means the dates mentioned are inclusive.

Day

Means calendar day.

Drainage
Means the river or stream proper and the area of land, including all
streams and standing waters, that drains into that river or stream.

Fishing Contest

Means any event for catching fish on waters of this state, excluding
licensed fishing preserves or hatchery catch out ponds, where an
entry or participation fee is charged and fifty (50) or more adult (18
years of age or older) anglers participate on a given date.

Fishing Contest Permit
Means a document issued by the Department that grants the permit-
tee authorization to conduct a fishing contest.

Game Fish
Unless otherwise provided for specific waters or drainages on pages
8-18, means:

- bass (GENUS Micropterus and Ambloplites);

- bluegill, pumpkinseed and sunfish (GENUS Lepomis);

- crappie (GENUS Pomoxis);

- walleye and sauger (GENUS Sander);

- yellow perch (GENUS Perca);

- trout, salmon, and char (GENUS Sa/mo, Oncorhynchus and Salve-
linus);

- whitefish and cisco (GENUS Prosopium);

- grayling (GENUS Thymallus);

- pike (GENUS Esox);

- catfish and bullheads (GENUS Ameiurus, Ictalurus, Noturus and
Pylodictis);

- burbot (GENUS Lota);

- sturgeon (GENUS Scaphirhynchus); and,

- freshwater drum (GENUS Aplodinotus).

Hook
Means a single hooked device or bait regardless of the number of
prongs.

Lake

Means a body of standing water in a depression of land and includes
reservoirs, ponds (excluding ponds created by beavers) and gravel
and mining pits.

Live Baitfish Dealer
Means a person licensed by the Department to sell live baitfish.

Live Baitfish Dealer of Record
Means the designated individual legally accountable for all aspects
of the live baitfish dealer.

Length

Means the total length
of a fish in inches, as
measured in a straight
line along a flat surface,
from the tip of the snout
to the tip of the tail.
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Nongame Fish
Means all fish not defined as game fish or aquatic invasive species,
including baitfish.

Personal Watercraft

Means any inboard motorized watercraft less than sixteen (16) feet
in length which has a water-jet pump as its primary source of motor
propulsion and which is designed to be operated by a person sitting,
standing or kneeling on the watercraft, rather than the conventional
manner of sitting or standing inside the watercraft.

Possession Limit

Means the maximum number of game fish that may legally be in pos-
session at any time and in any form. Game fish in transit or storage,
including home or domicile, shall be considered in possession. Pos-
session limits apply regardless of how many days an angler has fished.

Snag
Means attempting to take a fish in a manner that the fish does not
take the hook voluntarily in its mouth.

Special Fishing Contest Provision
Means a provision promulgated for exclusion of fishing contests
from specific waters.

Special Winter Ice Fishing Provision
Means a provision promulgated for the ice covered period for spe-
cific waters.

Stream

Means water in a permanent bed or channel with a current that is
usually continuous in one direction and includes creeks, rivers, irriga-
tion ditches, drains, canals, sloughs and ponds created by beavers.
Streams may not flow continuously during low-flow periods. Ponds
or puddles in a stream channel during low flow periods shall be
considered to be a stream.

Trout Bead

Means a bead constructed from any non-edible material to resemble
atrout egg that is fished on a line or leader above a hook or artificial
fly. Beads associated with spinners, bait harnesses and other types
of artificial lures are not considered trout beads.

Wild Caught Live Baitfish Possession Area

Means the specific locations in Area 2, 3 or 5 where wild caught live
baitfish may be possessed regardless of whether they were captured
by a seining license holder or obtained from a live baitfish dealer.

Seasons and Fishing Hours

Fishing is permitted year-round twenty-four (24) hours a day in any
waters of this state except as otherwise provided by Commission
regulation for specific areas, streams, lakes, or portions thereof.
Exceptions are listed with the regulations for each drainage area
on pages 8-18.

Emergency Closure

Specified waters may be closed to all fishing because of an emer-
gency upon forty-eight (48) hours notice.

Methods

Except as otherwise provided, fish shall only be taken or fished for
with a maximum of two (2) rods or poles, with lines and hooks at-
tached and the angler in attendance. No line may have more than
three (3) single hooked devices attached. It is legal to use hand
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lines, set lines, poles, or tip ups when fishing through the ice and
the angler is in attendance.

Internal organs, eggs, eyes, fins, and skin of game fish are the only
portions that may be used legally as bait. Any part of nongame fish
may be used as bait. The use of bait may be restricted on specific
waters as described in the Area Regulations on pages 8-18. Use or
possession of bait is prohibited in areas or on waters where fishing
is permitted by the use of artificial flies and lures only. Corn may
be possessed and used as bait in all waters where fishing with bait
is permitted.

It is unlawful to snag fish.

A trout bead fixed on a line or leader two (2) inches or less from
the eye of a bare hook is considered an artificial lure. Fishing with
a trout bead more than two (2) inches from the eye of a bare hook
or artificial fly is considered snagging and is prohibited.

It is unlawful to take, wound or destroy fish with a firearm of any
nature or by using poison, deleterious drug, electrical device, chemi-
cal, explosive or any similar substance or device. It is legal to take
nongame fish with archery equipment without a license or permit,
but it is always unlawful to take game fish with archery equipment.

Artificial light may be used while fishing with legal fishing meth-
ods except as prohibited for Underwater Spear Gun Fishing below.

Underwater Spear Gun Fishing
Fish may be taken by underwater spear gun fishing only in lakes.

No person shall use an underwater spear gun to take game fish
under water without obtaining a fishing license.

The use of artificial light to take game fish with a spear gun is
prohibited.

No game fish may be taken unless the underwater spear gun
fisherman is completely submerged.

All spears used on spear guns shall be attached to the spear gun
with a lanyard with a maximum length of twenty (20) feet.

Underwater spear gun fishing is not permitted within one hundred
(100) yards of any designated swimming or water ski areas, boat
dock, ramp or spillway.

A diver flag shall be displayed on the water when diving or un-
derwater spear gun fishing. It shall be a rectangular flag that is
either blue and white in color (alpha flag) or red in color with a
white diagonal stripe (diving flag), not less than twelve (12) inches
x twelve (12) inches and displayed no less than three (3) feet above
the surface of the water.

The limit on walleye taken by spear gun shall be two (2) per day or
in possession, except where designated as nongame fish or where
otherwise provided for Alcova Reservoir in Section 33. All other
general and water-specific creel and possession limits shall apply.

Special Winter Ice Fishing
Provision

The following method restrictions apply for waters covered by the
Special Winter Ice Fishing Provision.

« The use of more than two (2) lines is permitted only during the ice
covered period, and only when the angler is fishing through the
ice, on waters listed below as being included under the Special
Winter Ice Fishing Provision.

« No person shall use more than six (6) lines at any time to fish.

« When using more than two (2) lines, the angler’s name shall be
attached to each line, pole or tip-up; the angler shall be no more
than three hundred (300) yards from all lines; and, the angler shall
check his/her own lines.

The following 28 waters are included under
the Special Winter Ice Fishing Provision:

- Alcova Reservoir
- Bighorn Lake in Big Horn County
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- Big Sandy Reservoir

- Boulder Lake in Sublette County

- Boysen Reservoir

- Deaver Reservoir in Park County

- Flaming Gorge Reservoir

- Fontenelle Reservoir in Lincoln County

- Glendo Reservoir

- Goldeneye Reservoir

- Gray Reef Reservoir

- Grayrocks Reservoir

- Guernsey Reservoir

- Harrington Reservoir in Big Horn County
- Hawk Springs Reservoir

- Keyhole Reservoir

- Kortes Reservoir

- Lake DeSmet

- Lake Hattie

« Ocean Lake in Fremont County

- Pathfinder Reservoir

- Pilot Butte Reservoir

- Seminoe Reservoir

« Sulphur Creek Reservoir in Uinta County
- Wardell Reservoir

- Wheatland Reservoir #1in Platte County
- Wheatland Reservoir #3 in Albany County
- Woodruff Reservoir

Ice Fishing Shelters

Any person utilizing an enclosed ice fishing shelter on the waters
of this state shall remove the shelter from the body of water before
ice-out.

Fishing Contests

Fishing contests held on waters of this state shall be approved and
authorized in writing by the Department. No person shall conduct a
fishing contest without first obtaining a fishing contest permit. The
permittee shall adhere to all requirements and stipulations provided
on the fishing contest permit.

It is Unlawful...

- To release fish alive that have been placed on a stringer,
in a container, in a live well, or not released immediately to
the water without written approval from the Department.

- To plant or release live fish or fish eggs without the con-
sent and supervision of the Department or its authorized
personnel. This does not include fish captured by legal
means and released immediately upon capture.

- To sell, barter, dispose of, or abandon, or obtain by sale
or barter, any edible portion of any game fish in this state.

- To enter, fish from, beach, anchor, or tie-off a boat upon
private land or streambed without securing the landowner’s
permission (see page 31).

- To take game fish for another person.

« To possess or transport an aquatic invasive species in the
State of Wyoming.
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Applications

Anyone desiring to hold a fishing contest shall submit an application
for a fishing contest permit on a form provided by the Department.
Fishing contest applications may be submitted one (1) year (365
days) prior to the start of the fishing contest, but shall be submit-
ted at least thirty (30) days prior to the start of the fishing contest.

Live Release Fishing Contests
No person shall release live fish in a fishing contest without a fishing
contest permit authorizing live release.

Reasons for Denying Fishing Contest Permits

The Department may deny an application if information is falsified
on the application, or if the application is incomplete or incorrectly
filled out. Fishing contest permits shall not be issued if the Depart-
ment determines the fishing contest does not comply with Wyoming
Statutes, Commission regulations, shall be harmful to the fisheries
resource, or that public use facilities such as boat ramps, parking
areas, campgrounds, and related facilities are inadequate to support
the contest. Failure to comply with the requirements of the fishing
contest permit is a violation of Commission regulations and may
result in denial of future fishing contest permits.

Post-Fishing Contest Report Required

Within thirty (30) days after completion of the fishing contest, the
permittee shall submit a legible, complete and accurate written
report to the Department on a form provided by the Department.
Failure to submit this report may result in denial of future fishing
contest permits.

Fishing Contest-free Period
The following restrictions apply for waters covered by the “Special
Fishing Contest Provision.”
Waters included under the “Special Fishing Contest Provision”
are listed with the regulations for those drainage areas in Area 5.
The Department shall authorize fishing contests such that each
water included in the “Special Fishing Contest Provision” has a pe-
riod of at least two (2) weeks when fishing contests are not allowed.
The specific dates when contests are not allowed are listed with
the regulations for the drainage areas.

Established Check Stations,
Mandatory Reporting

Every angler shall stop and report at every check station on route
to or from any fishing area regardless if the person has any fish in
possession. Upon request of any authorized Department representa-
tive, anyone who has been fishing shall produce a valid license and
conservation stamp, if required, and fish. Even if the fish in possession
have been cut and wrapped or processed, the person transporting
fish shall stop and report at the check station.

Aquatic Invasive Species

Compliance with aquatic invasive species inspection requirements
is an express condition of allowing a watercraft to contact any wa-
ters of this state.

Immediately upon removing a watercraft from any waters of this
state, the operator shall remove all visible vegetation from the water-
craft and trailer and drain all water from the watercraft including, but
not limited to, water in the hull, ballast tanks, bilges, live wells and
motors. All bilge and ballast plugs and other barriers that prevent
water drainage from a watercraft shall be removed or remain open
while a watercraft is transported by land within the state.

Any person transporting any watercraft into the state by land from
March 1through November 30 shall have the watercraft inspected
by an authorized inspector prior to launching.
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Any person transporting any watercraft that within the past thirty
(30) days has been in contact with a water known or suspected to con-
tain zebra or quagga mussels shall have the watercraft inspected by
an authorized inspector prior to launching regardless of time of year.

All persons transporting a motorized or nonmotorized watercraft
shall stop at aquatic invasive species check stations that are estab-
lished on their route of travel. As part of all inspections, all compart-
ments, equipment, and containers that may hold water, including, but
not limited to, live wells, ballast and bilge areas shall be completely
drained as directed by authorized inspectors.

Any person who refuses to permit inspection of their watercraft
or refuses to complete any required removal and disposal of aquatic
invasive species shall be prohibited from allowing the watercraft to
contact any waters of this state and the watercraft will be subject
to impoundment until an aquatic invasive species inspection and
decontamination is completed.

All watercraft owners or operators that have not paid the aquatic
invasive species program fee as part of the motorized watercraft
registration fee, shall purchase and display an aquatic invasive
species program decal valid for the current calendar year prior to
contacting any waters of this state. Purchase of this decal shall be
evidenced by an aquatic invasive species program decal properly
affixed to the watercraft. Owners of multiple non-motorized water-
craft may transfer valid decals between their own non-motorized
watercraft, however, each non-motorized watercraft shall display a
valid decal while contacting any of the waters of this state. Proof
of decal purchase may be used in lieu of a properly affixed decal
for up to fifteen (15) days from date of purchase. All non-motorized
inflatable watercraft ten (10) feet in length or less, all solid and inflat-
able paddleboards regardless of length, and all devices defined as
water sport toys are exempt from this decal provision.

Visit the Aquatic Invasive Species website at wgfd.wyo.gov/AIS
for detailed regulations and to determine if your watercraft requires
a decal, purchase a decal, find inspection locations and dates and
hours of operation, and to find a list of U.S. waters known or sus-
pected to contain zebra and quagga mussels.

Transportation of Live Fish

No person shall transport live fish or live fish eggs from the water
of capture, except as provided by Commission regulations or as
authorized by the Department. This includes transporting live fish in
the live well of a fishing boat that has been removed from the water.

Tagging or Marking Fish

No person shall tag or mark fish and release them into the waters
of this state without prior written approval from the Department.

Closure of Fish Holding Facilities

All fish rearing and retaining ponds used by the state including those
located at state fish hatcheries, or any that may be constructed else-
where, are closed to fishing throughout the calendar year. Temporary
facilities at spawning station sites are closed to fishing during the
time they are in use by the Department.

Winter Closures

Some waters that are open to fishing are not accessible due to other
land use restrictions. The Wyoming Game and Fish Department and
US Forest Service have seasonal closures to protect wintering big
game herds. Be sure to check with the appropriate land manage-
ment agency before planning a winter trip.

Bait Regulations
Seining and Trapping of Fish

Seining and trapping licenses (hereafter referred to as seining license)
for the purpose of taking baitfish may be obtained from Game and Fish
Department Regional Offices or from the Cheyenne Headquarters. No
person shall seine, net, trap or spear baitfish without first obtaining a val-
id seining license. A valid seining license is required when using a seine,
net, trap or spear to take baitfish, even those that will be used as dead bait.
No person shall have more than one (1) seining license each calen-
dar year.

Seining or trapping and use of baitfish shall only be done as
specified in regulations for each drainage area. Locations where
baitfish may be obtained, possessed and used shall be specified
on the seining license.

Legal gear for taking baitfish includes seines, traps, cast nets,
umbrella nets and dip nets. There are no restrictions on the size of
mesh or net size for cast nets, umbrella nets or dip nets. Collection
gear shall be hand operated.
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Brook Stickleback —
free standing spines
on back, usually
numbering five (5)
are characteristic of
this fish.

Image courtesy New York State Department of Environmental Conservation.

Any brook stickleback (Culaea inconstans) taken must be killed
immediately and shall not be possessed or transported.

Seines used for the purpose of taking baitfish shall not be more
than five (5) feet deep.

Traps used for the purpose of taking baitfish shall not be more
than thirty-six (36) inches long, twelve (12) inches deep, twelve (12)
inches wide or twelve (12) inches in diameter and the throat shall
not exceed one (1) inch width.

A seining license holder shall not use more than five (5) traps at a time.

A holder of both a seining license and live baitfish dealer’s license
shall have no restriction on the number of traps that can be used.

The owner’s name and seining license number shall be attached
to each trap while in use.

Any game fish taken by trap, net or seine shall be released to the
water immediately.

No person shall intentionally tamper with or remove a trap or
net, or remove fish from a trap or net that is set and maintained in
compliance with Commission regulations without written permission
from the seining license holder.

Any live nongame fish captured for use as dead bait shall be killed
immediately and shall not be transported live.

All wild caught live baitfish transported out of the water of capture
shall be held in aquaria when not in use. Wild caught live baitfish
confined to a live car, net, pen or other enclosure in the same water
from which the baitfish were captured are exempt from the aquaria
holding requirement.

All aquaria and enclosures shall have the owner’s name and sein-
ing license number attached while in use.

A seining license holder shall allow Department personnel to
inspect live baitfish and all aquaria and enclosures used to hold live
baitfish during reasonable hours. If an inspection discloses species
of wildlife not authorized by the Department or an aquatic invasive
species, the Department may order the wildlife, including all fish
in aquaria and enclosures, removed from Wyoming or destroyed.

Wild caught live baitfish may be held indefinitely by the holder of
a valid, unexpired seining license, but shall not be released, aban-
doned or allowed to escape.

A seining license holder shall not sell live baitfish without first
possessing a valid live baitfish dealer’s license.

A seining license holder shall be allowed to give live baitfish
to other anglers in his or her fishing party for use only when
the seining license holder is present. All live baitfish shall be
returned to the seining licensee while not in use, and shall re-
main in the wild caught live baitfish possession area listed on
the seining license.

A seining license holder shall be allowed to give dead baitfish to
other anglers for use as dead bait.

Seining licenses are subject to suspension or revocation for failure
to comply with the seining and trapping conditions specified above
or with the regulations for each drainage area.

Any revocation of a seining license other than a court hearing
revocation shall be subject to contested case proceedings in ac-
cordance with Wyoming Game and Fish Commission Regulation
Chapter 27, Rules Of Practice Governing Contested Cases Before
The Wyoming Game and Fish Commission.

Use of Baitfish

The use or possession of live baitfish is prohibited throughout Areas
1and 4 and on all waters in Areas 2, 3, and 5 except as otherwise
provided on pages 8-18 which describe where live baitfish may be
obtained, possessed and used.

The specific waters from which wild caught live baitfish may be
seined, netted or trapped and used are listed on pages 8-18. Wild
caught live baitfish shall not be transported out of the designated
wild caught live baitfish possession area from which they were col-
lected. This area shall be listed on the seining license, live baitfish
dealer license or live baitfish receipt.

No person shall possess live baitfish while fishing on any water
where the use of live baitfish is prohibited.

Commercially produced live baitfish may be transported and pos-
sessed throughout Areas 2, 3 and 5 (east of the continental divide)
except where the use of live baitfish is prohibited. Use or possession
of commercially produced live baitfish is prohibited on all waters
except as otherwise provided on pages 8-18.

No person shall possess or transport brook stickleback in Wyoming.

Persons with live baitfish in possession shall produce, upon re-
quest from Department personnel, either a receipt from a licensed
live baitfish dealer or a valid, unexpired seining license verifying
the origin of the live baitfish.

No live baitfish shall be transported into the state for use as live bait-
fish except as provided in the LIVE BAITFISH DEALERS section below.

All live baitfish shall be held in aquaria or exclosures when not
in transport or in use.

Containers may be used to transport legally obtained live baitfish
or other wildlife by land, but shall not be part of a watercraft and
shall be free of aquatic vegetation.

Live baitfish shall not be released, abandoned, or allowed to
escape and must be killed when the receipt expires.

Dead baitfish may be used as bait. Restrictions on the use of dead
baitfish are designated within the regulations for the specific drain-
age areas. Nongame fish taken by the use of legal fishing methods
during any season open for the taking of game fish may be used as
dead bait. Any live baitfish captured for use as dead bait shall be
killed immediately and shall not be transported live.

Live Baitfish Dealers
Any person desiring to sell live baitfish shall apply for and receive
a valid live baitfish dealer’s license prior to selling live baitfish
except holders of a valid Wyoming commercial fish hatchery li-
cense who may sell live baitfish to live baitfish dealers for resale.
Application for a live baitfish dealer’s license shall be made on
forms provided by the Department. The applicant shall provide
information including, but not limited to, the physical location
of the business and a description of facilities to be used for
holding fish.

Detailed regulations and information pertaining to live baitfish
dealers is available online at https://wgfd.wyo.gov/Fishing-and-
Boating/Forms-and-Applications

Other Animals as Bait

All amphibians and reptiles may be taken throughout the calen-
dar year for personal use without a permit, except the Columbia
Spotted Frog, Wood Frog, Western (Boreal) Toad, Wyoming Toad,
Northern Tree Lizard, Great Basin Gopher Snake, Midget Faded
Rattlesnake, Black Hills Red-bellied Snake, Northern Rubber Boa,
Pale Milksnake, Smooth Greensnake and Plains Box Turtle may
not be taken. All amphibians and reptiles shall be confined at
their final destination and shall not be released, abandoned or
allowed to escape. Amphibians shall not be imported into the State
for use as live fishing bait. Importation or possession Wyoming
Toad is prohibited.

All mollusks and crustaceans may be take for personal use
throughout the calendar year and shall only be used as live fish-
ing bait in the water body from which they were captured. Live
mollusks and crustaceans taken for person use shall be confined
to aquaria at their final destination and shall not be released,
abandoned or allowed to escape. Traps used to take mollusks and
crustaceans shall have the owners name and address attached
while in use. Importation or possession of live Asian Clam, New
Zealand Mudsnail, Quagga Mussel, Rusty Crayfish or Zebra Mus-
sel is prohibited.
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Don’t let others
destroy your fishery

PLEASE REPORT ANYONE TRANSPORTING
OR STOCKING LIVE FISH

lllegal fish introductions can destroy valuable sport fisheries and native fish popu-
lations. Penalties may include lifetime revocation of Wyoming hunting and fishing
privileges, a fine up to $10,000, up to one year in jail, AND civil penalties in an amount
not to exceed the costs incurred by the Department in removing the fish from the
waters affected by the violation.

KNOW THE LAW...

« No fish shall be stocked in Wyoming wa-
ters without Department authorization.

« Any fish placed on a stringer, in a container,
in a live well, or not released immediately to
the water shall be considered reduced to
the possession of the angler AND MUST BE
KILLED PRIOR TO BEING TRANSPORTED
FROM THE WATER OF ORIGIN.

« No fish that has been reduced to posses-
sion shall be released alive without prior
written approval from the Department.

« Live baitfish shall not be transported by
land in the live well of a watercraft.

« ltis unlawful to release, abandon or allow
to escape any unused baitfish or any fish
that has been kept in an aquarium.

Rewards up to $5,000 Call 1-877-WGFD-TIP

YOUR IDENTITY CAN REMAIN CONFIDENTIAL



WYOMING CUTT-SLAM

Created in 1996, the Wyoming Cutt-Slam program helps anglers learn more about Wyoming’s cutthroat trout sub-
species and increases appreciation for the efforts to enhance and conserve this precious resource.

To participate In the Cutt-Slam, all you need to do is hit the road and catch each of the four cutthroat trout sub- . 4
species in their native range in Wyoming. Send us a clear photo with the date and location of catch in our online ) 4 N
application https://wgfapps.wyo.gov/masterangler/Welcome. WYOMING

To find out where to catch each subspecies, visit the interactive Cutt-Slam fishing map on our web page. CUTT & SLAM

The Cutthroat Trout Native Range

Snake River Cutthroat Yellowstone Cutthroat

Bonneville Cutthroat Colorado River Cutthroat

Once your Cutt-Slam is verified, you will receive a color certificate featuring
all four subspecies, a decal to advertise your accomplishment and a medallion
provided by a partnership with Wyoming Trout Unlimited.

For more information and to see photos from past participants, check out
our Cutt-Slam web page at wgfd.wyo.gov/Fishing-and-Boating/Cutt-Slam.
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MASTER \ ANGLER

The Wyoming Game and Fish Department
is pleased to now provide a program that
recognizes the catch of trophy sized fish
from Wyoming waters.

QUALIFYING LENGTHS

Brook Trout 168"
Brown Trout 23"

Burbot 28"
Channel Catfish 28"
Crappie 12"

Cutthroat Trout 18"
Freshwater Drum 22"
Golden Trout 16"
Grayling 16"
Kokanee 20"
Lake Trout 36"
Largemouth Bass 168"
Mountain Whitefish 18"
Northern Pike 34"
Rainbow Trout 20"
Sauger 23"
Shovelnose Sturgeon 32"
Smallmouth Bass 16"
Splake 20"
Sunfish 8"
Tiger Muskie 38"
Tiger Trout 23"
Walleye 23"
Yellow Perch 12"

| fa S LS

Master Angler Sara Thronburg, North Platte River, Cutthroat Trout

MASTER REWARDS

When you catch a qualifying fish and enter your catch at the Game and
Fish website, you will be awarded a Master Angler decal of that species.

Catch five different qualifying species and you will earn the Trophy
Angler Award coin.

Catch ten different qualifying species and you will earn the Ultimate
Angler award.

To enter or to see those already awarded, go to https://wgfd.wyo.
gov/Fishing-and-Boating/Master-Angler
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GAME FISH SPECIES IDENTIFICATION

BLACK SPOTS CONCENTRATED
TOWARD TAIL

RED OR ORANGE SLASH

CUTTHROAT TROUT

Black spotting is generally concentrated towards tail (except on the Snake
River cutthroat which has a uniform distribution of fine black spots); few
or no spots on head, red or orange slash under jaw; no white tips on fins.

DARK SPOTS WITH HALOS

BROWN TROUT

Distinguished from cutthroat and rainbow by the general lack of spots on
the tail and the light colored “halos” around the dark spots. May have some
red or orange spots. Distinguished from brook trout by dark spots on a
light background versus light spots on a dark background for brook trout.

LIGHT SPOTS ON DARK
BACKGROUND,

RED OR PINK SPOTS
WITH BLUE HALOS

BROOK TROUT

Light spots on a dark background. Some red or pink spots with blue halos
concentrated on lower half of body. Lower fins and tail have striking white
border offset by black. Brook trout have a square tail.

LIGHT SPOTS ON DARK
BACKGROUND

% 5 bt

‘ DEEPLY FORKED TAIL FIN
Light-colored spots on a dark background. Distinguished from brook trout
by a deeply forked tail and absence of red or pink spots.

LAKE TROUT

UNIFORM BLACK SPOTS

WHITE TIPS ON FINS

RAINBOW TROUT

Distinguished from cutthroat by the presence of white tips on fins.
Distinguished from kokanee by 11 anal fin rays versus 13 to 15 for kokanee.
Hybrids (cuttbow) may or may not have a red or orange slash on the lower
jaw, but always have white tips on fins.

13 — 15 ANAL FIN RAYS

KOKANEE SALMON
Brilliant red during fall spawning, silvery the remainder of the year.
Kokanee have 13 to 15 rays in the anal fin while rainbow trout have 9 to 11.

FORKED TAIL

SPLAKE

The splake is a cross between a male brook trout and female lake trout. It
can exhibit characteristics of either. The key characteristic to distinguish
from a brook trout or tiger trout is a forked tail.

TIGER TROUT

The tiger trout is a sterile hybrid of a brown trout and a brook trout. It
has a unique, light colored maze-like pattern on a dark background that
resembles the stripes of a tiger. The tail is not deeply forked.

WYOMING GAME AND FISH
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ADIPOSE FIN

SMALL POINTED MOUTH

MOUNTAIN WHITEFISH
Distinguished from trout by larger scales; from grayling by the small,
pointed mouth and smaller dorsal fin, and from suckers and chubs by the
presence of the adipose fin.

CONTINUOUS FIN

BURBOT

Slender and elongated body. Large, double dorsal fin that is scarcely
separated from the anal and caudal fins producing an almost continuous
median fin around the back half of the body. Has a single barbel in center
of lower jaw.

TAIL FIN ONLY SLIGHTLY
NOTCHED

BLACK BULLHEAD

No scales on dark colored body and large barbels near mouth.
Distinguished from channel catfish by lack of deeply forked tail; from
stonecat by the lack of a fleshy ridge connecting the adipose and tail fins.

LACKING BLACK SPOTS ON
DORSAL FIN NEAREST THE HEAD.

WHITE TIPS
WALLEYE

Large, silvery eye, large sharp teeth and anterior dorsal fin with spines.
Distinguished from sauger by white marking on lower lobes of tail and
anal fins, and a lack of black spots on the dorsal fin nearest the head.

LARGE DORSAL FIN

GRAYLING

Distinguished from trout by the coarse scales and large dorsal fin.
Distinguished from whitefish by the larger dorsal fin, large mouth, and
spots on the sides.

DEEPLY FORKED TAIL FIN

CHANNEL CATFISH
No scales on body and large barbels near mouth. Often has black spots
on sides. Distinguished from black bullhead by deeply forked tail.

BLACK SPOTS ON
DORSAL FIN

DARK, MOTTLED COLORATION

OFTEN PRESENT ON SIDES

SAUGER
Large, silvery eye, large sharp teeth and anterior dorsal fin with spines.
Distinguished from walleye by black spots on dorsal fin and wider head.

DISTINCT DARK
BARRING

LOWER BODY YELLOW TO
YELLOW-ORANGE

YELLOW PERCH

Spiny and soft dorsal fins not connected. Back and sides crossed by
several vertical bars that are regular in size and shape. Distinguished from
walleye and sauger by lack of large prominent teeth and anal fin with 6-8
soft rays rather than 11-14.

Illustrations by Michelle LaGory. Burbot illustration by Joseph Tomelleri.
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HORIZONTAL STRIPES

DISTINCT SNOUT

SPECIES IDENTIFICATION I

VERTICAL STRIPES

NORTHERN PIKE
Coloration having horizontal light markings on a dark background.
Distinct snout shape similar to that of duck’s bill.

SPINOUS DORSAL AND SOFT DORSAL
NEARLY SEPARATE

g

MOUTH EXTENDS
BEYOND EYE

= Lbf-\_‘h.%%f
LARGEMOUTH BASS

Body relatively slender. 3 anal fin spines. Dorsal spines usually 10.
Distinguished from smallmouth bass by having larger mouth with upper
jaw extending far behind middle of the eye and by having spiny and soft
dorsal fins that are nearly separate.

DARK “EAR” ON
GILL PLATE

MOUTH DOES NOT EXTEND
TO MIDDLE OF EYE

BLUEGILL

Deep body with spiny and soft dorsal fins well connected. 2-3 anal fin
spines. 10 dorsal spines. Soft dorsal fin with a black blotch near base
of last few rays. Dark “ear” flap on gill plate. Distinguished from green
sunfish by smaller mouth not extending to middle of eye.

TIGER MUSKIE
Coloration having irregular narrow vertical dark markings on a light
background.

SPINOUS DORSAL AND SOFT DORSAL
WELL CONNECTED

MOUTH DOES NOT
EXTEND PAST EYE

SMALLMOUTH BASS

Body relatively slender. 3 anal fin spines. Dorsal spines usually 10.
Distinguished from largemouth bass by having smaller mouth, not
extending much behind back of eye and by having spiny and soft dorsal
fins that are well connected.

DARK “EAR” ON
GILL PLATE

MOUTH EXTENDS
TO MIDDLE OF EYE
GREEN SUNFISH

Spiny and soft dorsal fins well connected. 2-3 anal fin spines. 10 dorsal
spines. Dark ear flap on gill plate. Distinguished from bluegill by larger
mouth with jaw extending to middle of eye.

Fish Hatchery Information

The Wyoming Game and Fish Department currently maintains ten fish hatcheries and
rearing stations. These facilities are an integral part of our efforts to provide quality fish-
ing and conserve native species. The hatcheries are located throughout the state. They
manage complex operations that include water quality enhancement, genetic selection,
detailed production plans and disease prevention in order to raise quality trout, salmon,
grayling and tiger muskie for stocking throughout the state. The Department does not
have hatcheries to rear coolwater or warmwater fish such as walleye, bass, catfish and
bluegill. These species are obtained for stocking in Wyoming by trading trout or trout eggs
with other state and federal wildlife agencies. Walleye and bass typically come from North
Dakota while bluegill might come from Oklahoma and catfish from Arkansas. Find out more
at https://wgfd.wyo.gov/Fishing-and-Boating/Fish-Hatchery-Information.

WYOMING GAME AND FISH
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IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Stream Access and Trespass

Wyoming’s trespass law states that a member of the public has
the privilege to enter private land only with the explicit permission
of the landowner.

Itis legal to float through private land but it is the responsibility of
the floater to know if the land is public or private. If you are floating
through private land you must stay in your boat at all times unless
permission has been obtained from the landowner.

State law only allows you to leave your craft for short portages
around non-navigable obstacles. The streambed is the property of the
landowner. Wading or anchoring without permission is trespassing.

Access to public lands for public use is only permitted if these
lands are accessed by floating on a navigable water or if the lands
are accessible from an existing public road or border other public
lands that you can access without crossing private lands. If you are
unsure, check with the land management agency responsible for
the land in question.

Public land maps, available from the Bureau of Land Manage-
ment, are excellent guides for avoiding a $420 trespassing ticket.

In all cases, respect the land, the landowner, and those who come
after you by removing litter and minimizing evidence of your pres-
ence and the evidence of others who have not been so considerate.

Treating your access as a privilege goes a long way in gaining
more access for fishing and hunting in Wyoming.

Releasing Fish in the Summer

As water temperatures increase during summer months, us-
ing the proper techniques to catch and release fish become
increasingly important to help ensure the fish will survive. The
Game and Fish asks anglers practicing catch and release, to
consider the following:

Fish early in the morning while the water temperature is
cooler and carry a pocket thermometer to monitor the water
temperature as the day warms.

If the water temperature is at or above 65 degrees, consider
keeping what you catch within the regulations. If the tem-
perature is 70 degrees or higher, do not attempt to catch
and release fish.

Use flies and lures whenever many fish are being caught
and released. Survival of released fish is five to ten times
greater when using artificial rather than natural baits.

Play and land fish as rapidly as possible.

Keep the fish in the water as much as possible.

Do not squeeze the fish or place fingers in the gills.
Remove hooks gently. Barbless hooks allow easier hook
removal. If hooked deeply, cut the leader.

If a fish is so exhausted it cannot hold itself upright, and if
regulations allow, consider harvesting it because the fish
has a poor chance of surviving.

2021 WYOMING FISHING REGULATIONS
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Mercury Advisory .

Most fish are good to eat and good for .) /\

your health. Fish are high in protein v 2
and other nutrients, low in fat, and g {’
have omega-3 fatty acids needed for /e

a healthy heart and brain develop- Wyoming
ment. Some fish contain high levels Department
of mercury that pose human health

risks. People, particularly children and of Health
some women, should avoid eating Commit to your health.
too many of those fish. At high lev-

els, mercury can affect developing

fetuses and the growing brains of children. To help you make
the healthiest choices, the Wyoming Department of Health, in
cooperation with the Wyoming Game and Fish Department,
continues to update advisories and provide fish consumption
guidelines as new mercury testing results become available.
Women who are pregnant, who might become pregnant,
nursing mothers and children under 15 should pay special
attention to the mercury consumption guidelines below.

Women and young children will receive the health benefits
of eating fish without undue exposure to the harmful effects
of mercury by eating up to 2 meals per week (8 ounces per
meal before cooking) of a variety of fish and shellfish that
are low in mercury. Some commonly eaten fish that are low
in mercury are rainbow trout, cutthroat trout, and kokanee
caught in Wyoming and shrimp, canned light tuna, salmon,
Pollock and catfish from stores and restaurants. The 2 meals
per week include fish from all sources, and should be the
total of Wyoming caught fish and fish purchased at stores
and restaurants. Mercury contamination increases as fish get
larger and older, so as a general rule, keep smaller Wyoming
caught fish for eating.

Rainbow trout, cutthroat trout and kokanee salmon contain
less mercury than species that prey primarily on other fish,
such as walleye, brown trout, lake trout, catfish and burbot.
Some Wyoming waters contain these and other species that
have been found to be higher in mercury. Tighter consump-
tion guidelines for what is okay to eat have been provided
for some of these species in the waters listed below. Visit the
Fish Consumption Advisory website below for detailed and
up-to-date consumption guidelines and additional fish con-
sumption information; wgfd.wyo.gov/Fishing-and-Boating/
Fish-Consumption-Advice

INFORMATION |

Harmful Cyanobacterial
Blooms or “HCBs”

Cyanobacteria are also known as blue-
green algae. Blue-green algal blooms
periodically occur in Wyoming waters in
late summer and early fall.

Blooms float on or just below the water
surface or leave a blue-green paste on the
shoreline and can turn the water green or
look like threads, clumps, scums and
spilled paint.

If you see a blue-green algal bloom...

® Report blooms at WyoSpills.org or call 307-777-7501

® Humans and pets should not swim in, drink or come
into contact with green water, floating scums or
clumps when recreating in the water

® Rinse fish with clean water and eat only fillets

® Some animals die every year after ingesting water
from a bloom. If you or your pet feel sick or get a rash
after coming into contact with a bloom, rinse off with
clean water and call your doctor or veterinarian

For more information and to check
bloom conditions: WyoHCBs.org
X

'l'\’f(' y‘ A

Wyoming
Department
of Health

Commit to your health.

DO

Wyoming Livestock Board

WYOMING DEPARTMENT OF
ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY
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CROCODILE BAY RESORT

OSA PENINS‘},J«LA, COSTA RI
- S _ TN

Book -
Your Dream
Sport Fishing
Vacation Today!
1.800.733.1115

SPORT FISHING | ECO ADVENTURES | LUXURY SPA
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Crocodile Bay Resort USA Office 1250 North McDowell, Petaluma, CA 94954
USA 1.800.733.1115 - local (707) 559 - 7990 fax (707) 559 - 7997
visit us online at www.crocodilebay.com  CST# 2049694-10


http://crocodilebay.com

WE NEED YOUR HELP TO PREVENT THE SPREAD!

b 4
CLEANDANDRY

WYOMING

DRAIN all water from gear and 3
CLEAN all plants,mud,  equipment. Remove all bilge, live-well and DRY everything

and debris from gear and ballast plugs and leave out during travel. thoroughly.
equipment. Leave wet compartments open to dry.

REGULATIONS REQUIRE BOATERS: All boats entering Wyoming from out of

o To drain all water from watercraft when leaving a water, state during March through November must
including the hull, ballast tanks, bilge, live wells and motor. be inspected before launching. For more

e Boaters must also remove visible plants from the watercraft and trailer. information on inspection locations and decal
o Containers may be used to transport legal live baitfish and should be free of aquatic plants. | Purchasing: Visit wgfd.wyo.gov/AlS, contact

o Bilge and ballast tank plugs and other barriers must be removed from watercraft and remain | Your local Game and Fish Regional Office, or
open during transport within Wyoming to allow compartments to fully drain and dry. call 1-877-WGFD-AIS (877-943-3247).

THANK YOU TO THE SPONSORS OF THE 2020 WYOMING AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES BOATER APPRECIATION RAFFLE:

L7~

FRINS -PRIDUCTS. £0/77

-)/>_

P ——
CITIMARINE.

STORE

%\ THE REEF FLY SHOP

NORTHPLATTEFLYFISHING.COM






