
Welcome 
The National Elk Refuge was established 
in 1912 in Jackson, Wyoming as a winter 
game elk reserve to protect winter habitat 
for migratory elk. The 24,700-acre Refuge 
supports a variety of plants and animals 
with its grasslands, wetlands, and forests.

Hours
Shooting hours are 1/2 hour before legal 
sunrise to 1/2 hour after legal sunset.

Firearms 
Persons possessing, transporting, or 
carrying firearms on National Wildlife 
Refuge System lands must comply with all 
provisions of federal, State, and local law. 
Persons may only use (discharge) firearms 
in accordance with refuge regulations (50 
CFR 27.42 and specific Refuge regulations in 
50 CFR Part 32). 

General Hunting Regulations
Hunting regulations are designed to provide 
safe recreational opportunities through 
wise use of renewable wildlife resources. 
Hunting is permitted in accordance with 
Federal regulations governing public use on 
National Wildlife Refuges as set forth in Title 
50 of the Code of Federal Regulations. Hunt-
ing will be in accordance with applicable 
State of Wyoming regulations subject to the 
conditions stated below. Brochures may be 
obtained by mail, at the Refuge headquar-
ters, or from the Refuge website. 

Who manages hunting on the National  
Elk Refuge?
Hunting on the National Elk Refuge 
(Refuge) is managed through a cooperative 
effort between the Refuge, Grand Teton 
National Park, and Wyoming Game & 
Fish Department (WGFD), with the goal of 
maintaining the WGFD herd size objective. 
The Refuge posts information related to the 
Refuge hunting programs on its website:  
www.fws.gov/refuge/national_elk_refuge

What must I have while hunting on 
the Refuge?
• Refuge permit & WGFD hunting license for

the species you are hunting.
Note: The applicant must possess a full
price license to apply for the Any Elk and
Youth Elk Hunt periods.

• WGFD Conservation Stamp (if required by
WGFD)

• WGFD Elk Special Management Permit (if
hunting elk)

• Hunter Safety Certificate (if required
by WGFD)

• All persons hunting big game during
an open firearm season shall wear in a
visible manner two (2) or more exterior
garments of a fluorescent orange or
fluorescent pink color that is visible 360
degrees and that shall include a hat and
one of the following: shirt, jacket, coat,
vest, or sweater. Fluorescent orange or
fluorescent pink camouflage is legal.

How do I get a permit for hunting on  
the Refuge?
The application process for a Refuge  
permit for hunting is done online via the 
WGFD Access Yes! Hunter Management 
Area Program.

What Refuge-specific laws regulate 
hunting on the Refuge?
In addition to all Federal and WGFD 
requirements, the following Refuge specific 
regulations are enforced. Hunters must be 
knowledgeable of all regulations prior to 
hunting as violations may result in forfeiture 
of the animal, criminal penalties, and permit 
revocation.

Hunting activities prohibited on the Refuge
• Intentional herding or harassment of

wildlife.
• Discharging firearms other than for lawful

hunting (i.e. target shooting and sighting in).
• Indiscriminate shooting, shooting multiple

times into a running herd, or injuring
multiple animals.

• Shooting from parking areas or any road.
• Interfering with or harassing other hunters.
• Using decoys outside the Archery Only

Area or using blinds that completely
obstruct visible fluorescent orange or
fluorescent pink garment.

Transportation activities prohibited on 
the Refuge
• Driving off designated roads.
• Stopping or unloading hunters along

Refuge roads.
• Parking outside of designated hunt

parking lots.
• Overnight camping or parking.
•
•

Using bicycles off designated roads.
ORVs are allowed on public roads
but must be registered, insured, and
operated by a licensed driver. ORVs and
snowmobiles are not allowed on Refuge
retrieval roads.

• See map for horse use hunting
restrictions. Horses are allowed Refuge-
wide for retrieval purposes.

Other activities prohibited on the Refuge
• Collecting natural or cultural resources,

including but not limited to antlers, skulls,
and artifacts.

• Possession or use of alcoholic beverages.
• Possession of non-certified weed-free hay.
• Starting or maintaining any fires.
• Overnight camping or parking.
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The Blue Goose is the symbol of  
the National Wildlife Refuge System, a 
network of lands and waters managed  
for the benefit of wildlife and people.

Hunting is in accordance with State regulations; in addition, Refuge-specific regulations must be followed and are listed in the table below.

Activity Season Dates
Hunt 
Areas

Other Regulations

Elk State regulations 
apply.

See elk 
hunt map.

Following harvest, elk hunters may use retrieval roads starting at 10:00 am.

Elk hunters are allowed one assistant and must ensure that assistant is compliant with all Refuge 
regulations.

Elk hunters may fill up to three WGFD elk licenses on a single Refuge permit.

Elk hunters are limited to possessing no more than 7 cartridges per license.

Harvest Reports are included with every Refuge permit and must be completed for each hunt period 
drawn, whether successful or not. Directions for submission are  on the Harvest Report.

Elk hunters are required to participate in a Chronic Wasting Disease sampling program by depositing 
the animal’s head at a collection box or allowing a biologist to collect samples in the field. Hunters  
are advised to take personal safety precautions by wearing rubber gloves while field dressing. All 
ear tags and radio collars from harvested animals must be returned to the Refuge or WGFD, Jackson  
Regional Office.

The Refuge Youth Only Elk Hunt will occur Thursday through Saturday of Thanksgiving weekend. For 
those three days, full-priced youth license holders who have drawn a Refuge permit for that period 
may take one bull elk. Youth hunters may take two additional cow/calf elk with additional licenses.

Bison State regulations 
apply.

See bison 
hunt map.

Following harvest, bison hunters may use retrieval roads immediately.

Bison hunters are allowed multiple assistants and must ensure their entire hunt party is compliant with 
all Refuge regulations.

Antelope Unit 6
Archery  
Aug. 15 – Sept. 9

Firearms  
Sept. 10 – Oct. 31

Unit 8
Firearms
Oct. 1 – 31

See 
antelope 
hunt map.

Following harvest, pronghorn hunters may use retrieval roads immediately.

Antelope hunters are allowed one assistant and must ensure that assistant is compliant with all 
Refuge regulations.

Antelope hunters are limited to possessing no more than 7 cartridges per license.

Harvest Reports are included with every Refuge permit and must be completed for each hunt period 
drawn whether successful or not. Directions for submission are on the Harvest Report.

White-tail 
deer

Unit 6
Archery
Sept. 1 – 14

Firearms
Sept. 15 – Oct. 31

See 
white-tail 
deer hunt 
map.

Following harvest, white-tail deer hunters may use retrieval roads immediately.

White-tail deer hunters are allowed one assistant and must ensure that assistant is compliant with all 
Refuge regulations.

White-tail deer hunters are limited to possessing no more than 7 cartridges per license.

White-tail deer hunters are required to participate in a Chronic Wasting Disease sampling program by 
depositing the animal’s head at a collection box or allowing a biologist to collect samples in the field. 
Hunters are advised to take personal safety precautions by wearing rubber gloves while field dressing.

Harvest Reports are included with every Refuge permit and must be completed for each hunt period 
drawn whether successful or not. Directions for submission are on the Harvest Report.   

Accessibility 
Equal opportunity to participate in and benefit 
from programs and activities of the U.S. 
Fish and Wildlife Service is available to all 
individuals regardless of physical or mental 
ability. For more information please contact the 
U.S. Department of the Interior, Office of Equal 
Opportunity, www.doi.gov/accessibility.  

National Elk Refuge (NER) 
Hunt Information Line 
307 / 201-5437

National Elk Refuge Administrative Office 
P.O. Box 510, 675 E. Broadway Avenue  
Jackson, WY 83001  
307 / 733-9212  
www.fws.gov/refuge/national_elk_refuge/ 

National Elk Refuge Visitor Center 
532 North Cache Street  
Jackson, WY 83001

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service 
www.fws.gov

Wyoming Game & Fish Department  
Jackson Office 
P.O. Box 67, 420 North Cache Street 
Jackson, WY 83001  
307-733-2321 

Teton Interagency Dispatch 
307 / 739-3301

In an emergency, dial 911  
For State relay service TTY / Voice: 711 
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What are the requirements for animal 
retrieval?
• If retrieving after dark, hunters should

notify Refuge staff by leaving a message
on the Refuge Hunt Information Line at
307 / 201-5437.

• Hunters may not leave animal parts,
including gut piles and carcasses, within
300 feet of parking areas and public
roads.

• No game retrieval is allowed through
Grand Teton National Park. This includes
retrieval to Gros Ventre parking areas
at Milepost 1.1 and 2.3. If retrieving to
Highway 89 lot, hunters must bring their
vehicle inside the gate to load the animal
at the Highway 89 lot.

What should I do before I pursue an injured 
animal off or onto the Refuge?
Prior to December 1, if an injured animals 
crosses from the National Forest onto 
the Refuge, or if retrieval would be more 
efficient through the Refuge hunters should 
call the Refuge Hunt Information Line and 
leave a message describing their situation 
and plan for recovery.

Following this notice, the hunter may 
pursue or retrieve the animal as planned, 
giving consideration to limiting any 
resource damage. Beginning December 1, 
Forest Service lands adjacent to the Refuge 
are closed to all human presence per 
winter travel restrictions.

If the injured animal crosses into Grand 
Teton National Park, the hunter must 
immediately notify Teton Interagency 
Dispatch at 307 / 739-3301.

What regulations apply to non-hunting 
assistants?
• Assistants must stay within 50 yards of

the permitted hunter, unless retrieving.
• All assistants during an open firearm

season shall wear in a visible manner two
(2) or more exterior garments of a
fluorescent orange or fluorescent pink
color that is visible 360 degrees and that
shall include a hat and one of the
following: shirt, jacket, coat, vest, or
sweater. Fluorescent orange or
fluorescent pink camouflage is legal.

What guide and retrieval companies  
are permitted to operate on the National 
Elk Refuge?
Commercial guiding and retrieval services 
may be available. The company currently 
authorized to operate on the Refuge is 
Double Diamond Tag-n-Drag 307 / 248-1490.

Does the Refuge allow Wyoming hunter 
assistance and programs for hunters with 
disabilities?
Hunters enrolled in the WGFD Hunter Mentor 
Program may receive a Refuge permit.

The Refuge encourages hunters with dis-
abilities to participate in the hunt program 
and offers reasonable accommodation for 
the activity. Hunters who have both a WGFD 
Disabled Hunter Permit and a Refuge hunt-
ing permit are eligible to reserve one of two 
designated hunt sites. Reservations must be 
made at the Refuge Administrative Offices 
at 675 E. Broadway in Jackson, WY. The 
reservation is limited to a 3-day period. The 
WGFD Disabled Hunter Companion Permit 
is also valid on the Refuge. Contact WGFD 
for further information on these programs.

What hunting areas can I hunt, and what 
are their restrictions?
All hunt areas must be accessed from 
designated parking lots or direct access 
routes that correspond to the legal hunting 
method allowed in that area. All Refuge 
hunting areas have specific restrictions.

What else do I need to know?
• Prior to the start date of their hunt period, 

hunters may only access Refuge areas 
open to the general public.

• Hunters are only allowed in hunt areas 
when they have a Refuge permit and a 
valid matching license.

• Refuge roads or parking areas may be 
closed or inaccessible due to inclement 
weather or management decisions.

• Use of non-lead ammunition is 
encouraged.

• During high fire danger, a fire 
extinguisher and shovel are 
recommended.

• Grizzly bears frequent the Refuge. 
Carrying bear spray is recommended.

• Bicycles, including e-bikes, can be used 
for hunting and retrieval purposes, but 
must stay on designated public roads and 
in designated parking lots, or on retrieval 
roads.

National Elk Refuge Hunt Information Line
Hunters are encouraged to call the Hunt 
Information Line at 307 / 201-5437 for weekly 
updates on National Elk Refuge Hunts. 

Archery Only Areas
Hunters must carry and are restricted to 
possessing only a bow or crossbow legal 
for taking game as defined by the WGFD. 
Hunters must be at least 200 yards from all 
residences and the National Fish Hatchery. 
After November 1, the Archery Hunting Area 
along Highway 89 may be accessed by either 
the Fishing or Hatchery gate parking areas.

Limited Range Areas
Hunters must carry and are restricted to 
possessing only limited range weapons, 
including handguns, muzzle loading rifles, 
shotguns with slugs, or archery equipment 
legal for taking the game species they are 
hunting as defined by the WGFD. Handguns 
are further restricted to straight-walled 
cartridges with a barrel length no longer 
than 12 inches.

Any Weapon Areas
Hunters may hunt with any legal weapon for 
taking the game species they are hunting as 
defined by WGFD.

Refuge Youth Hunter Development Program 
The Youth Hunter Development Program on 
the Refuge provides opportunities for youth 
mentoring when the adult has drawn a 
permit and wishes to hunt with a licensed 
youth that has not drawn a permit. This 
program does not allow an adult to hunt 
when the licensed youth hunter draws a 
permit, but the adult did not. For more 
information, please call the Refuge Hunt 
Information Line.

Per Wyoming Statue, any hunter that is 12 or 
13 years old shall at all times be accom-
panied by an adult who possesses and can 
exhibit a hunter safety certificate, or who 
currently holds or has been issued a 
Wyoming big game hunting license within 
the last five years. If the person who is 
accompanying the hunter under the age of 
14 years old is not the parent or guardian of 
the hunter, the hunter shall have in their 
possession a permission slip signed by their 
parent or guardian allowing them to hunt 
under supervision. Each accompanying 
adult shall supervise only one hunter under 
the age of 14 years.




