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LICENSE/STAMP FEES 

 
Resident Furbearer Hunting or Trapping .......................... $44.00 
Resident Youth Furbearer Hunting or Trapping  
      (Under 17 years) ..........................................................  $6.00 
     All Resident Furbearer Hunting or Trapping licenses are 
     available from license selling agents, Department  
     Regional Offices and Cheyenne  Headquarters. 
Nonresident Furbearer Hunting or Trapping 
     (Adult and Youth) ....................................................... $242.00 
     Nonresident Furbearer Hunting or Trapping licenses are  
     available only through Cheyenne Headquarters. 
Resident Fur Dealer .......................................................... $52.00 
Nonresident Fur Dealer .................................................. $277.00 
     Resident and Nonresident Fur Dealer licenses are 
     available only through Cheyenne Headquarters. 
License to Capture Furbearing Animals for  
     Domestication .............................................................. $20.00 
     License to Capture Furbearing Animals for  
     Domestication are available only through Cheyenne    
     Headquarters. 
Wildlife Damage Management Stamp ............................. $10.00 
 
 

 
IMPORTANT HUNTER INFORMATION 

 
DISCLAIMER.   The following sections are a condensed summary 
of  applicable  wildlife  laws  and  other  important  information.  
This  summary  is  in  no  way  intended  to  alter  the  content  or 
statutory  intent  of  those  laws.    If  you  have  any  questions 
regarding the precise language, you can view a copy of the State 
Statutes  (Title  23)  and Wyoming  Game  and  Fish  Commission 
(Commission)  Regulations,  available  at  the  Cheyenne 
Headquarters,  Department  Regional  Offices,  the  Department 
website  or  consult  the  following  websites:    http://
soswy.state.wy.us or http://legisweb.state.wy.us.   

 

New or revised Important Hunter Information language  
is in italicized type and underlined. 

 

LEAST WEASEL.  State law lists the “weasel” as a furbearing animal.   
Three weasel species are present in Wyoming:  long‐tailed weasel, 
short‐tailed weasel (ermine) and least weasel.    The least weasel is 
very small and its fur has negligible value.   The species is quite rare 
and little is known concerning its distribution.   Trappers are asked 
to make every attempt  to avoid  trapping  the  least weasel.     The 
Department requests that unintentional trapping of a least weasel 
be  reported  to  the Nongame  Section  by  telephoning  1‐800‐654‐
7862 in an effort to preserve the specimen for scientific use. 
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ACCESS  AND  VEHICLE  TRAVEL  ON  LANDS  ENROLLED  IN  THE 
DEPARTMENT’S  WALK‐IN  AREAS  OR  HUNTER  MANAGEMENT 
AREAS.   Access to private  lands enrolled  in the Walk‐in Area or 
Hunter  Management  Area  Programs  is  granted  only  for  the 
species  of  wildlife  and  for  the  time  periods  specified  in 
Department  publications.    Hunters  wishing  to  use  enrolled 
Access Yes private  lands  for any other wildlife  species, activity 
or  time period must obtain permission  from  the  landowner or 
person  in charge of the property.     Travel by motorized vehicle 
is  prohibited,  except  as  otherwise  stated.      Department 
publications  or  signs  shall  serve  as  official  regulations  of  the 
Commission  and may  advise  of  additional  restrictions.      The 
landowner  or  person  in  charge  of  the  property  may  grant 
permission  for  motorized  vehicle  travel  contrary  to  that 
specified by Department signs or publications.   
 
ACCESS YES PROGRAM.  The Access Yes Program was established 
in  response  to numerous public  requests  that  the Department 
help address  the difficulties of  finding places  to hunt and  fish.  
Hunters  and  anglers  can  voluntarily  donate  any whole  dollar 
amount  to  Access  Yes  when  they  purchase  or  apply  for  a 
license.      Contributions  are  used  to  secure  additional  public 
hunting  and  fishing  access  on  private  lands  and  inaccessible 
public lands.  Donating helps support the program, but does not 
provide or imply access to all private or inaccessible public lands 
in Wyoming.    
 
ARTIFICIAL LIGHT FOR HUNTING PROHIBITED; EXCEPTION.  No 
person  shall  take  any wildlife with  the  aid  of  or  by  using  any 
artificial  light  or  lighting  device  except  that  predators may  be 
taken with the aid of an artificial light or lighting device by:  
  
     (i)    A  public  officer  authorized  to  and  conducting  predator 
control;  
 
     (ii)    A  landowner,  resident  manager  or  person  with  the 
landowner’s or a resident manager’s written permission to take 
predators,  on  land  under  the  landowner’s  control  for  the 
protection of their property.   
  
It  is  prima  facie  evidence  of  a  violation  if  a  person  uses  an 
artificial light in an area that may be inhabited by wildlife while 
having  in  their  possession  and  control  any  device  for  taking 
wildlife.   This shall not prohibit the hunting on foot of raccoon 
with  the  aid  of  a  handlight,  provided    the    hunter    is  
accompanied   by   a   raccoon   hunting   dog   and,  if hunting on 
private land(s), has the written permission of the landowner or 
their agent.   
  
BAIT RESTRICTIONS.  No person shall take a game animal, game 
bird or game fish and use any part thereof for bait to hunt, trap 
or poison any wildlife of Wyoming.   
 
CHECK  STATIONS.    Every  hunter,  angler,  or  trapper  of 
furbearing animals shall stop and report at every check station 
on  route  to  or  from  the  hunting,  fishing  or  trapping  area, 
regardless  if  the  person  has  wildlife  in  possession.    Upon 
request of any authorized Department  representative, anyone 
who has been hunting, fishing or trapping shall produce a valid 
license  and  conservation  stamp,  if  required,  and  special 
management permit, if required, for game animals, game birds, 
furbearing  animals  or  fish.    Even  if  the  game meat  or  fish  in 
possession has been cut and wrapped or processed, the person 
transporting wildlife shall stop and report at the check station.  
Any person  transporting wildlife harvested  in another  state or 
country shall stop at check stations on their route.   
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CLOSED  AREAS.      All  areas within  the  state  of Wyoming  not 
opened by specific order of  the Commission shall be closed  to 
the taking of game animals, furbearing animals, and game birds.    
 
CONSERVATION STAMP.   Persons exercising privileges under a 
furbearer hunting or trapping license are not required to obtain 
a conservation stamp.   

DEFINITIONS.   
     “Accompanied  by  a  mentor”  means  being  directly 
supervised  at  all  times  by  a mentor who  is within  sight  and 
direct voice contact. 
     “Artificial  light  or  lighting  device”  means  any  man‐made 
light or lighting device that projects a light visible to the unaided 
eye outside of  the device, or any battery‐powered device  that 
provides an enhanced ability to see in the dark. 
     “Designated road” means an established road marked with a 
white arrow sign.   
     “Domicile” means  that  place where  a  person  has  his  true, 
fixed  and  permanent  home  to which whenever  the  person  is 
temporarily  absent  the  person has  the  intention  of  returning.  
To prove domicile as required by Wyoming Statutes § 23‐1‐102 
and  §  23‐1‐107  a  person  shall  be  able  to  establish  that  he:  
physically  resides  in Wyoming; has made his permanent home 
in  Wyoming;  is  not  residing  in  Wyoming  for  a  special  or 
temporary  purpose;  and,  has  abandoned  his  domicile  in  all 
other states, territories or countries.  
     “Electronic Licensing Service (ELS)” means the Department’s 
Electronic  Draw  Application  System,  Internet  Point  of  Sale 
System  and  Online  Internet  Sales  System  used  by  the 
Department, license selling agents and the public to apply for or 
purchase licenses, permits, stamps, tags, preference points and 
coupons. 
     “Established  road”  means  any  road  or  trail  that  has  been 
graded  or  constructed  to  carry  motor  vehicles  or  on  which 
repeated motor vehicle traffic has created well‐defined tracks.   
     “Furbearing animal” means badger, beaver, bobcat, marten, 
mink, muskrat or weasel.  
     “License”  means  a  document  issued  by  the  Department, 
through  the  authority  of  the  Commission,  to  a  qualified 
individual that grants certain privileges to take fish or wildlife in 
accordance with statutory or regulatory provisions.  
     “Mentee”  means  a  person  who  has  received  special 
authorization from the Department to take wildlife and who has 
not  received a certificate of competency and safety  in  the use 
and handling of firearms.  
     “Mentor” means a person who is at least eighteen (18) years 
of age, can demonstrate he has a certificate of competency and 
safety  in  the  use  and  handling  of  firearms,  possesses  a  valid 
Wyoming hunting  license  and  is directly  supervising not more 
than one (1) mentee, other than immediate family members, at 
a time while in the field. 
     “Nonresident” means any person not a resident. 
     “Orders” means orders, rules and regulations. 
     “Permit” means a document that grants additional privileges 
to an individual who possesses the proper license(s) to carry out 
activities not authorized by the license itself. 
     “Predacious bird” means English sparrow and starling. 
     “Predatory  animal”    means  coyote,  jackrabbit,  porcupine, 
raccoon,  red  fox,  skunk or  stray cat.     “Predatory animal” also 
means  gray  wolf  located  outside  the  Wolf  Trophy  Game 
Management  Area  and  Seasonal  Wolf  Trophy  Game 
Management Area as described in W.S.  § 23‐1‐101(a)(xii)(B) (l) 
and (ll).  
     “Protected  animal” means  black‐footed  ferret,  fisher,  lynx, 
otter, pika or wolverine. 
     “Protected  bird”  means  migratory  birds  as  defined  and 
protected under federal law. 
     “Public road or highway” means any roadway that is open to 
vehicular  travel  by  the  public.    The  road  surface,  the  area 
between the fences on a fenced public road or highway, and an 
area  thirty  (30)  feet  perpendicular  to  the  edge  of  the  road 
surface  on  an  unfenced  public  road  or  highway  shall  be 
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considered  the  public  road  or  highway.    Two‐track  trails  on 
public lands are not public roads. 
     “Resident” means a United States citizen or legal alien who is 
domiciled in Wyoming for at least one (1) full year immediately 
preceding making  application  for  any  resident  game  and  fish 
license, preference point, permit or tag, shall not have claimed 
residency  in any other state,  territory or country  for any other 
purpose  during  that  one  (1)  year  period,  and  meets  the 
requirements  specified  in  Wyoming  Statutes  § 23‐1‐102 and 
§ 23‐1‐107.  
     “Small  game  animal” means  cottontail  rabbit or  snowshoe 
hare, and fox, grey and red squirrels. 
     “Take”  means  hunt,  pursue,  catch,  capture,  shoot,  fish, 
seine,  trap,  kill or possess, or  attempt  to hunt, pursue,  catch, 
capture, shoot, fish, seine, trap, kill or possess. 
     “Trap” means the taking of a furbearing animal or predatory 
animal by trap, snare or with a firearm or archery equipment. 
 
DISABLED  HUNTER  INFORMATION.      Contact  the  Cheyenne 
Headquarters  or  any  Department  Regional  Office  for  specific 
information. 
 
DOMESTICATION  OF  FURBEARING  ANIMALS.      Any  resident 
person  who  desires  to  capture  furbearing  animals  for 
domestication  or  propagation  shall  apply  for  a  license  to 
capture furbearing animals for the purpose of domestication or 
propagation.   The Department may issue the license under such 
restrictions as  it deems necessary.     Applications are available 
from  game  wardens,  Department  Regional  Offices  and  the 
Cheyenne  Headquarters.      A  person must  also  apply  for  and 
receive  a  Chapter  10  Regulation  for  Importation,  Possession, 
Confinement,  Transportation,  Sale  and  Disposition  of  Live 
Wildlife  permit  prior  to  capturing  and  possessing  any  live 
furbearing animal.       
 
DUPLICATE  AND  REPLACEMENT  LICENSE  ISSUED  UPON  LOSS 
OR  DESTRUCTION  OF  ORIGINAL;  PURCHASE  AND  FEES.   
When  any  license  issued  has  been  lost  or  destroyed,  the 
licensee may secure a duplicate of the original license from the 
Cheyenne  Headquarters,  any  Department  Regional  Office  or 
designated  license selling agents.     A duplicate  license shall be 
issued  if  the  original  license  was  issued  through  the 
Department's Electronic Licensing Service (ELS) and contained a 
carcass  coupon.     A  replacement  license  shall be  issued  if  the 
original  license  was  issued  through  the  Department's  ELS 
system and did not contain a carcass coupon.  The licensee may 
secure  a  replacement  license  at  the  Cheyenne  Headquarters, 
Department  Regional  Offices  or  from  ELS  agents.      The 
Department  shall  charge  a  fee  of  five  dollars  ($5)  for  each 
duplicate or replacement license.   
 
EMERGENCY  CLOSURES.    The  Commission  may  institute  an 
emergency  closure  to  shorten  the  season  in  any  area  at  any 
time  if  a  harvest  quota  is  reached  or  if  an  emergency  arises 
warranting  the  closure.    Should  a  closure  become  necessary 
after  the  season  opens,  no  refunds will  be  given  for  unused 
licenses.   
 
FUR DEALER  LICENSES AND  TAGGING  REQUIREMENTS.     Any 
person engaging  in the business of buying, collecting, selling or 
shipping raw furs, other than hides from cloven hoof big game 
animals, shall apply for and obtain a resident fur dealer’s license 
or a nonresident  fur dealer’s  license prior  to  commencing  the 
business.      Fur  dealer  licenses  are  only  available  from  the 
Cheyenne Headquarters.     Residents  shall  apply  through  their 
local  game  warden.      Nonresidents  must  apply  through  the 
Cheyenne  Headquarters.      Licensed  fur  dealers may  receive, 
purchase,  store, handle,  ship,  sell,  transport  and deliver hides 
from cloven hoof big game animals within or outside the state 
without tagging the hides with a Wyoming  interstate game tag 
so  long as proper records are kept.     Fur dealers bringing hides 
or  furs  lawfully  obtained  in  another  state  into Wyoming  shall 
not  remove  any  tag,  tattoo,  mark  or  other  identification 
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attached to or placed upon the hide or fur by the authorities of 
another state.    
 
HUNTER SAFETY/MENTOR PROGRAM; EXEMPTION.       Except as 
otherwise provided, no person born on or after January 1, 1966, 
may take wildlife by the use of firearms on land other than that 
of  their own  family, unless  that person  can demonstrate  they 
have   obtained   a   certificate   of   competency   and   safety    in  
the  use  and  handling of firearms.   Attendance and successful 
completion of a hunter safety course offered by an association 
or governmental agency approved by  the Commission satisfies 
the requirements of this section.    
  
Any  active  member,  honorably  discharged  past  member  or 
veteran of the armed forces of the United States and any active 
or   retired   Wyoming   peace   officer qualified pursuant to W.S.  
§ 9‐1‐701  through § 9‐1‐707  is exempt  from  the hunter safety 
requirements.      Hunter  safety  exemption  applications  are 
available  at  the  Cheyenne  Headquarters  and  Department 
Regional Offices.     This hunter safety exemption  is not valid for 
hunting  elk within Grand  Teton National  Park  (Hunt Areas  75 
and 79), or for persons acting as mentors in the Hunter Mentor 
Program. 
  
A person who has not received a certificate of competency and 
safety  in  the  use  of  handling  firearms  may  apply  to  the 
Department for a special authorization to take wildlife with the 
use of a firearm while being accompanied by a person acting as 
a mentor.   A special authorization shall be valid for one (1) year 
from  the  date  of  issue  and  shall  be  in  the  possession  of  the 
recipient at all times while in the field.   The application process 
may  be  completed  on  the Department website.     Any  person 
acting as a mentor shall be at  least eighteen  (18) years of age, 
shall possess a valid hunting license, and shall demonstrate they 
have successfully completed a hunter safety course.   A mentor 
shall not provide supervision for more than one (1) person at a 
time  in  the  field,  other  than  immediate  family members,  and 
shall  accompany  the mentee  at  all  times  to  provide  constant 
supervision.    
  
LICENSE  EXPIRATION.    Furbearing  animal  hunting  or  trapping 
licenses expire on  the  last day of  the  calendar  year  for which 
issued. 
 
LICENSE  FRAUD  PROHIBITED;  INVALIDATION  BY  IMPROPER 
FEES.     Department  licenses, permits, stamps,  tags or coupons 
shall  not  be  altered  by  anyone  other  than  authorized 
Department  personnel.    No  license,  permit,  stamp,  tag  or 
coupon  shall be  transferred or used  for  the purpose of  taking 
wildlife  except  by  the  individual  to  whom  it  was  issued  and 
therein named  and while  in  that  individual’s possession.     No 
individual  shall  take  or  attempt  to  take  any  wildlife  using 
another individual’s license, permit, stamp, tag or coupon.   Any 
license, tag, permit or stamp shall not be valid unless the proper 
fees  have  been  received  by  the  Department.    Any Wyoming 
Game and Fish  law enforcement officer may seize as evidence 
any license, tag, stamp or permit that was obtained in violation 
of Commission regulations or Wyoming statutes.   
 
PERMISSION TO HUNT, FISH OR TRAP.   No person shall enter 
upon  the private property of  any person  to hunt,  fish or  trap 
without the permission of the landowner or person in charge of 
the  property.    The  license  must  bear  the  signature  of  the 
landowner,  lessee or agent of the  landowner on whose private 
property  the  person  is  accessing  or  the  legitimate  proof  as 
evidence  that  permission  to  hunt,  fish  or  trap  has  been 
granted.    
 
PRECAUTIONS  WHEN  HUNTING  IN  AREAS  OCCUPIED  BY 
GRIZZLY BEARS.   Hunters and anglers are reminded that grizzly 
bears  occupy  many  areas  in  and  around  the  Bridger‐Teton, 
Shoshone  and  Caribou‐Targhee  National  Forests  in  northwest 
Wyoming.    The  Department  strongly  recommends  individuals 
working   and    recreating   in   these   areas   take   precautions,  
 



 

7 

 

  

 

Lock  Terminal end of  
           cable 

  

including  carrying  bear  pepper  spray,  to  avoid  conflicts  with 
grizzly  bears.      Information  about  human  safety  and  proper 
storage of food and other attractants in occupied grizzly habitat 
is  available  from  the  Cheyenne  Headquarters,  Department 
Regional  Offices,  U.S.    Forest  Service  Offices  and  the 
Department  website.      Regulations  concerning  food/carcass 
storage  in  occupied  grizzly  habitat  can  be  obtained  from  the 
U.S.  Forest Service.   Report all conflicts with grizzly bears to the 
nearest Department Regional Office.    
 
PROHIBITED ACTS.  IT IS ILLEGAL TO: 
 Intentionally  tamper  with  or  remove  a  trap  or  snare;  or, 
release  or  remove  a  furbearing  animal  or  predator  from  a 
trap or  snare  that  is  set and maintained  in compliance with 
Wyoming statutes and Commission regulations. 

 Shoot or attempt to kill any wildlife  from any public road or 
highway. No person shall  fire any  firearm  from, upon, along 
or  across  any  public  road  or  highway.  No  person  shall 
knowingly fire any rifle from the enclosed lands of one person 
onto  or  across  the  enclosed  lands  of  another  without  the 
permission of both persons.  

 Use any dog  to hunt,  run or harass any big or  trophy game 
animal,  protected  animal  or  furbearing  animal  except  as 
otherwise provided by statute. The Commission shall regulate 
the use of dogs  to  take mountain  lions  and bobcats during 
hunting or trapping seasons.  

 Use any aircraft with the intent to spot, locate and aid in the 
taking of any game animal from August 1 through January 31 
of  the  following calendar year.   Nothing  in  this Section shall 
apply to the operation of an aircraft in a usual manner where 
there is no attempt or intent to locate any game animal, such 
as aircraft used for the sole purpose of passenger transport. 

 Take and leave, abandon or allow any game bird, game fish or 
game animal (except trophy game animal), or edible portion, 
to intentionally or needlessly go to waste.  

 Transport  illegally  taken  wildlife  across  state  lines;  such 
transportation is a violation of the Federal Lacey Act. 

 Harass,  pursue,  hunt,  shoot  or  kill  any  Wyoming  wildlife 
except predatory animals with,  from or by use of any  flying 
machine,  automotive  vehicle,  trailer,  motor‐propelled 
wheeled vehicle or vehicle designed for travel over snow. The 
Commission may  exempt  handicapped  hunters  from  any  of 
these provisions.  It  is also  illegal  to  shoot waterfowl  from a 
boat under power or sail.    

 
SNARE  BREAK‐AWAYS  AND  LOOP  SIZE.      All  snares  used  for 
furbearing or predatory animals shall be equipped with a break‐
away device  (i.e., shear pin, J hook, S hook, cable  ferrule, etc.) 
located at the junction of the snare lock and the terminal end of 
the  cable  and  shall  release  at  two  hundred  ninety‐five  (295) 
pounds of pressure or  less; and  the  loop  size  shall not exceed 
twelve (12) inches in diameter measured from side to side (see 
diagram below).   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
TAKING  PREDATORY  ANIMALS  AND  PREDACIOUS  BIRDS.   
Predatory animals and predacious birds may be taken without a 
license.    

 

Break‐away 
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TIME  PERIOD  FOR  CHECKING  LEGHOLD  TRAPS,  SNARES  AND 
QUICK‐KILL BODY‐GRIP TRAPS.    All leg‐hold traps as defined by 
Commission  regulation  shall be checked by  the owner at  least 
once  during  each  seventy‐two  (72)  hour  period  unless 
extensions  are  granted  by  the  Department.      All  snares  and 
quick‐kill body‐grip  traps as defined by Commission  regulation 
shall be  checked by  the owner not  less  than once  each week 
unless extensions are granted by  the Department.     The check 
period could be as long as 13 days if a snare or quick‐kill body‐
grip  trap was  set  or  checked  on  a Monday  of  one week  and 
rechecked  on  the  Sunday  of  the  next  week  (see  following 
example).    

TRAP  AND  SNARE  IDENTIFICATION;  EXPOSED  BAIT; 
CONFISCATION;  AND  LANDOWNER  INSPECTION,  REMOVAL, 
RELEASE  AND  REPORTING.      All  traps  and  snares  used  for 
furbearing or predatory  animals  shall be permanently marked 
or  tagged  with  the  name  and  address  of  the  owner  or  the 
identification  number  assigned  to  the  owner  by  the 
Department.     A  trap or snare  licensed under  this section shall 
not be set within thirty (30) feet of any exposed bait or carcass 
over  five  (5)  pounds  in weight.      As  used  in  this  subsection, 
“exposed bait or carcass” means the meat or viscera of any part 
of a mammal, bird or fish, excluding dried bones.   All non‐target 
wildlife  caught  in  any  trap  or  snare  shall,  upon  discovery,  be 
removed  immediately by the owner.     Any trap or snare found 
in the  field not bearing the name and address of the owner of 
the  trap or snare or  the  identification number assigned by  the 
Department  to  the  owner  of  the  trap  or  snare  may  be 
confiscated  by  any  employee  of  the  Department.      Any 
landowner or their agent may  inspect any trap or snare set on 
his property, may remove the trap or snare and may release or 
remove  from  the  trap or  snare any wildlife  that has not been 
taken  lawfully.     The  landowner or  their agent  shall notify  the 
Department of any  such wildlife, excluding predatory animals, 
as soon as practicably possible after removing the wildlife from 
a trap or snare.     
 
TRAPPING  INFORMATION RESOURCES.    For more  information 
about  trapping,  please  visit  the  North  American  Trapper 
Education  Course  at  http://conservationlearning.remote‐
learner.net/,  and  “Best  Management  Practices  (BMP)  for 
T r a p p i n g   a t   h t t p : / / f i s h w i l d l i f e . o r g / ?
section=best_management_practices.   
 
TRAPPING LICENSE.    Any person, except as otherwise provided, 
upon  application  and  the  payment  of  the  proper  fee,  may 
receive  a  license  to  trap  any  furbearing  animal.      The 
Department shall issue a trapping license to a nonresident only 
if  their  state  issues  licenses  to Wyoming  residents  to  trap  the 
same species for which residents of that state may be  licensed 
to trap in that state.   Any nonresident applying for a Wyoming 
trapping license shall furnish: 
 

(1)  A  notarized  affidavit  stating  the  applicant’s  legal  address 
including their state of residence; and,  
 

(2) A copy of the most current statutes or rules and regulations 
of  the  applicant’s  state  of  residence  that  show  that  the  state 
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issues  nonresident  trapping  licenses  that  authorize Wyoming 
residents  to  trap  the  same  species  for which  residents of  that 
state may be licensed to trap in that state. 

  
Resident  trapping  licenses  are  available  from  the  Cheyenne 
Headquarters, Department Regional Offices and  license  selling 
agents.     Nonresident trapping  licenses are available only  from 
the Cheyenne Headquarters.     
 
TRAPPING  ON  STATE  LANDS.    Written  permission  from  the 
Director of the Office of State Lands and Investments is required 
prior to trapping on any state lands.  The application form may 
be  downloaded  from  http://lands.wyo.gov/resources/
recreation.  
 
VEHICLE RESTRICTIONS ON FEDERAL LAND.   Sportspersons are 
advised that many areas of National Forest and Bureau of Land 
Management  lands  are  subject  to  travel  and  vehicle  use 
limitations  to  protect  resources.    Maps  and  additional 
information  regarding  these  limitations  are  available  at  U.S.  
Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management and other agency 
offices near these public lands.   
 
WILDLIFE  DAMAGE  MANAGEMENT  STAMP.      The Wyoming 
Legislature created the Wyoming Animal Damage Management 
Board  to  manage  rabid  wildlife,  mitigate  crop  and  livestock 
damage caused by depredating wildlife, and  to protect human 
health and safety.   The legislation developed several sources of 
funding  for  the Board  to carry out  its  responsibilities  including 
the  creation  of  a WILDLIFE  DAMAGE MANAGEMENT  STAMP.   
Those  interested  in  funding  the  activities  of  the  Board  may 
voluntarily purchase the stamp at the Cheyenne Headquarters, 
Department  Regional  Offices  and  all  license  selling  agents.   
Purchase  of  the  stamp  is  not  mandatory,  but  does  provide 
sportspersons  a  voluntary  means  to  fund  predator 
management.     
 
WILDLIFE VIOLATOR COMPACT.   Wyoming is a member of the 
Wildlife Violator Compact.  The Compact enables a violator from 
any member state to accept a wildlife citation and proceed on 
their way without being  required  to post an appearance bond 
unless  the  violation  requires  MUST  APPEAR  and  NO  BOND 
ACCEPTED.      The  Compact  provides  for  the  suspension  of 
wildlife license privileges in the home state of any person whose 
license privileges have been suspended by a participating state.   
If  you  have  had  your  privileges  suspended  in  any  of  the 
participating states, you may lose your privileges in Wyoming, in 
addition  to  all  the  participating  Compact  states.      Additional 
information about  the Compact can be obtained by contacting 
the Wildlife Law Enforcement Coordinator at (307) 233‐6413.    
 
WIND RIVER RESERVATION.     Only non‐Indian owned, fee title 
lands are open to the taking of wildlife with a State of Wyoming 
license.   Land status  is complicated and  lawful access must be 
investigated  thoroughly.    Sportspersons  are  advised  it  is  their 
responsibility  to determine  land  status prior  to entering  these 
areas.  
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CLOSED AREAS SET FORTH IN SECTION 4 

Area 1 is entire state of Wyoming subject to the 
species limitations described in Section 4. 
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THIS MAP IS FOR GENERAL REFERENCE ONLY.   
Please use the written boundary descriptions in this 
regulation for detailed hunt area boundary information. 



 

12 

 
Section  1.    Authority.    This  regulation  is  promulgated by 

authority of W.S. § 23‐1‐302, W.S. § 23‐2‐303, W.S. § 23‐2‐305 
and W.S. § 23‐3‐109.   

 
Section 2.    Definitions.   Definitions shall be as set forth in 

Title  23, Wyoming  Statutes, Commission  regulations,  and  the 
Commission also adopts the following definitions: 

 
(a)   “Drainage” means all  lands within  the watershed of a 

named  river  or  stream,  including  all  tributaries  and  standing 
waters which drain into that river or stream. 

 
(b)    "Green  pelt"  means  the  untanned  hide  or  skin  of  a 

furbearing animal. 
 
(c)  “Owner” means the person who physically sets any trap 

or  snare  in  any  fashion  that  may  result  in  the  take  of  any 
furbearing or predatory animal. 

 
(d)   “Quick‐kill body‐grip  trap” means a device that closes 

around the body or head of the animal in such a manner as to 
almost immediately kill the animal caught.   

 
(e)    “Snare” means  a  device  consisting  of  a  loop with  no 

mechanical  trigger  for  capturing  furbearing  or  predatory 
animals. 

 
(f)    “Leg‐hold  trap” means any device using a mechanical 

trigger  that  springs  the  jaws  or  loop  shut  for  capturing 
furbearing or predatory animals. 

 
(g)   “Live  trap”   means any device designed  to capture or 

trap a live animal inside a cage or structure.  Such traps include, 
but are not limited to box traps and cage traps. 

 
(h)   “Trapping” or “trap” means the taking of a furbearing 

or predatory animal by trap, snare or with a firearm or archery 
equipment. 

 
(i)     “Trap  identification number” means an  identification 

number  assigned  to  the  owner  of  traps  or  snares  by  the 
Department. 

 
(j)    “Week”  means  the  seven  (7)  day  period  starting  on 

Monday through the following Sunday. 
 
Section 3.   Hunting or Trapping Seasons.   Species, hunting 

or trapping areas, season dates and limitations.   
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

WYOMING GAME AND FISH COMMISSION 
CHAPTER 4 

FURBEARING ANIMAL HUNTING OR TRAPPING SEASONS 

Species 
Trapping 
Area 

Season Dates 

Limitations Opens  Closes 

Mink  1  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  Any  mink 

Bobcat  1  Nov. 15  Mar. 1  Any bobcat 

Muskrat  1  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  Any muskrat 

Weasel  1  Oct. 1  Mar. 31  Any weasel 

Badger  1  Jan. 1  Dec. 31  Any badger 

Marten   1  Oct. 1  Mar. 1  Any marten 

2  Dec. 1  Mar. 1  Any marten 
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Section  4.    Furbearing  Animal  Hunting  or  Trapping  Area 

Descriptions. 
 

(a) Area and Number. 
 

(i) All furbearing animals, excluding marten and beaver. 
 

Area 1.  The entire State of Wyoming, excluding those 
areas closed in Section 4(b). 

   

(ii) Marten. 
 

Area 1.   The entire state of Wyoming, excluding Area 
2 as listed in this subsection and those areas closed in Section 4
(b). 

 

Area 2.    Snowy Range.   Beginning at  the  junction of 
Interstate  Highway  80  and  U.S.  Highway  287  in  the  city  of 
Laramie;  southerly  along  U.S.  Highway  287  to  the Wyoming‐
Colorado  state  line;  westerly  along  said  line  to  Wyoming 
Highway 230 in Carbon County; northerly along said highway to 
Wyoming  Highway  130;  northerly  along  said  highway  to 
Interstate  Highway  80;  easterly  along  said  highway  to  its 
junction with U.S. Highway 287. 

 

(iii) Beaver.   
 

Area 1.  The entire State of Wyoming, excluding those 
limited quota trapping areas  listed  in this subsection and those 
areas closed in Section 4(b).  

 
Area 101.  Ditch Creek.  Ditch Creek drainage in Teton 

County. 
 

Area  102.   Willow  Creek.   Willow Creek drainage  in 
Teton and Lincoln counties. 

 

Area 103.  Game Creek and Little Horse Creek.  Game 
Creek and Little Horse Creek drainages in Teton County. 

 
Area 104.   Fall Creek.   All of the Fall Creek, Mosquito 

Creek and Dog Creek drainages on U.S. Forest Service  lands  in 
Teton and Lincoln counties. 

 

Area 301.   North Tongue River.   North Tongue River 
drainage in Sheridan County. 

Species 
Trapping 
Area 

Season Dates 

Limitations Opens  Closes 

Beaver  1  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  Any beaver 

101  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 5 beaver 

102  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 20 beaver 

103  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 10 beaver 

104  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 25 beaver 

301‐305  CLOSED     

401  CLOSED     

404‐407  CLOSED     

408  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 15 beaver 

409  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 15 beaver 

410  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 15 beaver 

411  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 35 beaver 

412  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 15 beaver 

413  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 30 beaver 

414  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 30 beaver 

501  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 10 beaver 

502  Oct. 1  Apr. 30  1 trapper; 10 beaver 

 503  CLOSED       

 504  CLOSED       

 505  CLOSED       

606  CLOSED     
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Area 302.   South Tongue River.   South Tongue River 
drainage in Sheridan County. 

 

Area 303.  East Fork of Big Goose Creek.  East Fork of 
Big  Goose  Creek  drainage  upstream  of  Park  Reservoir  in 
Johnson County. 

 

Area 304.   Clear Creek.   Clear Creek drainage on U.S. 
Forest Service lands in Johnson County. 

 

Area 305.  Crazy Woman Creek.  Crazy Woman Creek 
drainage on U.S. Forest Service lands in Johnson County. 

 

Area  401.    South  Rock  Springs.    That  portion  of 
Sweetwater  County  south  of  I‐80  between  the  Green  River, 
Flaming Gorge Reservoir and Wyoming Highway 430.   

 

Area  404.    Henrys  Fork.    Henrys  Fork  River,  Louse 
Creek and Sage Creek drainages on the Wasatch‐Cache National 
Forest in Uinta County. 

 

Area  405.    Cottonwood  Creek.    Cottonwood  Creek 
drainage  on  the    Wasatch‐Cache  National  Forest  in  Uinta 
County. 

 

Area  406.    East  Fork  of  Smiths  Fork.    Drainages  of 
Gilbert Creek and East Fork of Smiths Fork River upstream from 
Wasatch‐Cache National Forest boundary in Uinta County. 

 

Area 407.  West Fork of Smiths Fork.  West Fork of the 
Smiths  Fork River  and Willow  Creek drainages upstream  from 
Wasatch‐Cache National Forest boundary in Uinta County. 

 

Area  408.    Salt  Creek.    Salt  Creek  drainage  on U.S. 
Forest  Service    lands,  Salt  Creek  Proper  and  Raymond  Creek 
drainage on public lands in Lincoln County. 

 

Area 409.   Upper Smiths Fork.   Smiths Fork drainage 
on U.S. Forest Service lands in Lincoln County. 

 

Area 410.   Hobble Creek.   Hobble Creek drainage on 
U.S.  Forest    Service  lands,  Coal  Creek,  and  Saw  Mill  Creek 
drainages in Lincoln County. 

 

Area 411.   Hams Fork River  (Hams Fork).   Beginning 
where  the Hams Fork River crosses  the Bridger‐Teton National 
Forest boundary  to where  the  river crosses U.S. Forest Service 
Road 062 and all tributaries lying east of the Hams Fork River in 
Lincoln County. 

 

Area  412.    South  Fork  Fontenelle  Creek.    Beginning 
where  the South Fork of Fontenelle Creek crosses  the Bridger‐
Teton  National  Forest  boundary  to  its  headwaters  and  all 
tributaries  in  Lincoln  County,  including  all  of  the  drainages  of 
the South Fork of Fontenelle Creek upstream from the Bridger‐
Teton National Forest boundary within Lincoln County. 

 
Area  413.    Fontenelle  Creek.    Beginning  where 

Fontenelle  Creek  crosses  the  Bridger‐Teton  National  Forest 
boundary  to  the  confluence  of  Camp  Fire  Creek  and  all 
tributaries  in  Lincoln  County,  including  all  of  the  drainages  of 
Fontenelle  Creek  between  the  Bridger‐Teton  National  Forest 
boundary and Camp Fire Creek within Lincoln County. 

 

Area  414.    LaBarge  Creek  and  South  LaBarge  Creek 
(main  streams).  Beginning  where  LaBarge  Creek  crosses  the 
Bridger‐Teton National Forest boundary  to  its headwaters and 
the main  channel  of  South  LaBarge  Creek  in  Lincoln  County.  
LaBarge Creek Proper will be closed one (1) mile each direction 
from  the  confluence of Nameless Creek  and  LaBarge Creek  in 
Lincoln County. 
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Area 501.   North Pole Mountain.   All of the drainages 
of Brush Creek, Crow Creek, Lodgepole (Pole) Creek, McKechnie 
Creek  and  Horse  Creek  within  the  boundaries  of  the  Pole 
Mountain  Division  of  the Medicine  Bow  National  Forest  and 
north  of  the  Happy  Jack  Road  (Wyoming  Secondary  Highway 
210‑U.S.F.S. 722) in Albany County. 

 

Area 502.   South Pole Mountain.   All of the drainages 
of Brush Creek,  Lodgepole  (Pole) Creek, Crow  Creek  and Dale 
Creek within  the boundaries of  the Pole Mountain Division of 
the Medicine Bow National Forest and south of the Happy Jack 
Road (Wyoming Secondary Highway 210‐U.S.F.S. 722) in Albany 
County. 

 
Area  503.   Woods  Landing.    All  public  lands within 

Boswell  Creek,  Eagle  Creek,  Shellrock  Creek,  Bear  Creek,  Jelm 
Creek and Porter Creek drainages in  Albany County. 

 
Area 504.  Lake Owen.  All public lands south and east 

of U.S.F.S. Roads 552 and 540 within Fox Creek, Squirrel Creek, 
Squaw Creek,  Lake Owen Creek  and  Strain Creek drainages  in 
Albany County. 

 
Area  505.    Sheep Mountain.   All public  lands within 

Fence  Creek,  Hecht  Creek  and  Buckeye  Creek  drainages  in 
Albany County. 

 
Area 606.   East Fork Wind River.   All lands within the 

Spence and Moriarity Wildlife Management Area and  the Kirk 
Inberg/Kevin Roy Wildlife Habitat Management Area in Fremont 
County.   

 

 (b) Closed Areas.  
 

(i) The following areas shall be closed to the taking of all 
furbearing animals. 

 

(A) Bighorn  Canyon  National  Recreation  Area  in 
Bighorn County; 

 

(B) Grand Teton National Park in Teton County; 
 

(C)  John D. Rockefeller Jr. Memorial Parkway in Teton 
County; 

 

(D) National Elk Refuge in Teton County; and, 
 

                  (E)  Rawhide  Wildlife  Management  Area,  Springer 
Wildlife  Habitat  Management  Area  and  the  Table  Mountain 
Wildlife Habitat Management Area  in Goshen County  shall be 
closed October 1 through February 15. 
 

 
(ii) The  following areas  shall be  closed  to  the  taking of 

beaver. 
 

(A) Beaver Creek drainage from Wyoming Highway 70 
downstream  to  its  confluence  with  the  North  Fork  of  the 
Encampment River in Carbon County; 

 

(B)  Cache Creek drainage in Teton County; 

The  following  areas  are  closed  to  trapping.    If  there  are 
questions,  contact  the  appropriate  personnel  at  the National 
Park Service. 
  (A)   Bighorn Canyon National Recreation Area  in Bighorn 
County. 
  (C)    John  D.  Rockefeller  Jr. Memorial  Parkway  in  Teton 
County. 
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(C)  Cliff Creek drainage in Sublette County; 
 
(D)  Granite  Creek  drainage  from  the  Granite  Hot 

Springs swimming pool downstream to the confluence with the 
Hoback River in Teton and Sublette counties; 

 

(E)  Nameless Creek proper in Lincoln County; 
 

(F)  Nash  Fork  drainage  south  of Wyoming  Highway 
130  from  the  Snowy  Range  Ski  Area  Road  downstream  to  its 
confluence with  the North  Fork  of  the  Little  Laramie  River  in 
Albany County; 

 

(G) South  Fork  Hog  Park  Creek  drainage  from  the 
Colorado/Wyoming  state  line  downstream  to  its  confluence 
with Hog Park Creek in Carbon County;  

     

(H) South Fork Lake Creek and Goetze Creek drainages 
on the Pennock Mountain Wildlife Habitat Management Area in 
Carbon County; and,  

 

(I) The head of the Rock Creek drainage north and east 
of  the  Sand  Lake Road  (U.S.F.S. Road  101)  downstream  to  its 
confluence with the South Fork of Rock Creek in Carbon County. 

 

(iii) The  following areas shall be closed  to  the  taking of 
marten. 

 

(A)  All  lands  within  the  Pole Mountain  Unit  of  the 
Medicine Bow National Forest in Albany County. 

 

Section 5.  Common Season Boundary.  Wherever a stream 
or river forms a boundary between two (2) trapping areas with 
differing seasons for the same furbearing animal, the stream or 
river  channel  proper  shall  open  for  trapping  on  the  earliest 
opening date and close on the latest closing date of the two (2) 
seasons involved. 

 
Section 6.  Limited Quota Furbearing Animal Trapping Area 

Permits.  Limited quota trapping areas shall be open only to the 
person(s) who  possesses  a  furbearing  animal  trapping  permit 
for  the  limited  quota  trapping  area  and  a  furbearing  animal 
trapping license.  Only the holder of a permit for a limited quota 
trapping area(s) shall be allowed to trap the limited quota area 
for the designated species during the trapping season for which 
the  permit  is  valid.    Permit  holders  shall  be  determined  by  a 
random computer selection.   

 

(a)  Application  for  Limited  Quota  Furbearing  Animal 
Trapping Permits.  Applications shall be available from Wyoming 
Game  and  Fish  Department  Regional  Offices,  the  Cheyenne 
Headquarters Office and game wardens.   Any qualified person 
may submit one (1) application for a limited quota trapping area 
drawing and may list as many as three (3) choices. 

 

(b)  When  trapping,  each  permit  holder  shall  present  his 
permit and a valid Wyoming furbearing animal trapping  license 
for  inspection  upon  request  to  any  law  enforcement  officer 
empowered to enforce these regulations.   

 
(c) Application Date.   Applications  shall be  submitted on  a 

form provided by  the Department  to  the Headquarters Office 
from July 1 through September 1. 

 

(d)  Drawing.    Only  correct  and  complete  applications 
received in the Headquarters Office during the application dates 
shall be entered  in the random computer selection.   Successful 
applicants shall be notified by mail. 

 

(e) Leftover Limited Quota Trapping Area Permits.  After the 
regular  drawing,  applicants  may  apply  for  limited  quota 
trapping  area  permits  not  issued  in  the  drawing  for  limited 
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quota  furbearing animal trapping areas.   Applicants shall apply 
to the Headquarters Office.  Permits shall be issued in the order 
the  applications  are  processed  or  until  quotas  are  reached.  
Submission  of  an  application  either  through  the mail  or  hand 
delivered shall not guarantee a permit. 

 

Section 7.  Authorization to Trap.   
 

(a) Any person holding a  valid Wyoming  furbearing animal 
trapping  license shall be authorized  to  trap  furbearing animals 
in  any  trapping  area  specified  in  the  current  trapping 
regulations,  excluding  those  species  within  limited  quota 
furbearing  animal  trapping  areas  requiring  a  limited  quota 
furbearing animal trapping permit as specified in this regulation 
and excluding closed areas in Section 4(b) of this regulation. 

 

(b)  Individuals  issued  limited  quota  furbearing  animal 
trapping permits  shall  contact  the  game warden  listed on  the 
notice  for  instructions  prior  to  taking  furbearing  animals 
authorized by this permit in the limited quota furbearing animal 
trapping areas. 

 

Section 8.  Trap and Snare Specifications.   
 

(a)  All snares used for furbearing or predatory animals shall 
be equipped with a break‐away device  located at  the point of 
the snare lock; 

 

(b)  Break‐away devices shall release at two hundred ninety‐
five (295) pounds of pressure or less; 

 

(c)  Snare  capture  loop  size  shall  not  exceed  twelve  (12) 
inches in diameter measured from side to side; 

 

(d)  Snares  shall  be  solidly  anchored  to  ensure  the  break‐
away  device  properly  functions  to  release  at  two  hundred 
ninety‐five (295) pounds of pressure or less, and; 

 

(i)  Snares shall not be anchored to any wire of a fence. 
 

(ii)  Snares shall not be anchored to any moveable object 
such as a drag. 

 
(e)  A quick‐kill body‐grip trap having a jaw measurement of 

ten (10) inches or greater when measured vertically at its widest 
part  of  the  jaw  shall  not  be  set,  other  than  on  private  land, 
unless  the  bottom  of  the  quick‐kill  body‐grip  trap  is  partially 
submerged in water when set. 

 
Section  9.    Check  Period  for  Leg‐hold  Traps,  Live  Traps, 

Snares and Quick‐Kill Body‐Grip Traps.   
 

(a)   All  leg‐hold traps and  live traps shall be checked by the 
owner a minimum of once during each  seventy‐two  (72) hour 
period. 

 
(b)  All snares and quick‐kill body‐grip traps shall be checked 

by the owner a minimum of one time each week, except during 
the initial week the snares or quick‐kill body‐grip traps were set.   

 

Section  10.   Mandatory  Bobcat  Registration.    All bobcats 
harvested in Wyoming shall be registered with the Department 
by  the  person  taking  the  bobcat,  regardless  of  the  final 
disposition of the pelt or unskinned carcass.   Bobcat pelts may 
be registered throughout the bobcat season, but registration of 
pelts shall end at 5:00 p.m. on March 11 of each year.      If  the 
registration  deadline  date  occurs  on  a  weekend  when  the 
Department  Regional Offices  are  closed,  bobcat  pelts may  be 
registered on  the next business day until  5:00 p.m. Mountain 
Standard Time.  The properly licensed trapper shall present the 
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pelt or unskinned  carcass  in  an unfrozen  condition  to  a  game 
warden or a Department Regional Office.  It shall be unlawful to 
possess  an  untagged  green  bobcat  pelt  after  the  registration 
period expires.     

 
(a)  Before a Wyoming bobcat tag shall be issued, the person 

taking a bobcat shall provide to the Department at the time of 
registration, the age and sex of the bobcat, the number of the 
Department’s  bobcat management  area  in  which  the  bobcat 
was taken, the date the bobcat was taken, the number of traps 
that were set, and  the number of days  traps were set or days 
hunted with a firearm (i.e. trapping or harvest effort).   

 
(b)   A Wyoming bobcat tag shall be attached to the pelt or 

unskinned  carcass  by  an  employee  of  the  Department.  
Wyoming bobcat tags shall be issued free of charge.  

 
(c)  Any  person  who  makes  a  false  statement  on  the 

registration form shall be in violation of this regulation and shall 
be  punishable  as  provided  by  Title  23, Wyoming  Statutes  for 
violation of Commission regulations. 

 
Section 11.  Trapping of Non‐target Wildlife; Disposition of 

Furbearing Animals at the Trap Site.   
 
(a)   All big or  trophy game animals, game birds, protected 

animals  or  protected  birds  that  are  trapped  shall  be  released 
unharmed. 

 
(b)    If  a  big  or  trophy  game  animal,  game  bird,  protected 

animal or raptor is trapped and has been injured in such a way 
that the injury may result in death of the animal or if the animal 
has  been  killed,  the  trapper  shall  notify  a  Department  law 
enforcement officer as soon as is reasonably possible. 

 
(c)    Furbearing  animals  that  are  trapped  during  a  closed 

season  shall  be  released  unharmed.    If  a  furbearing  animal  is 
caught during a  closed  season and  injured  in  such a way  that 
may result in death of the animal or if the furbearing animal has 
been  killed,  the  trapper  shall  notify  a  Department  law 
enforcement officer as soon as is reasonably possible. 

 
(d)  Furbearing animals legally taken shall be either killed at 

the trap site or immediately released to the wild.  If the trapper 
holds both a furbearing animal trapping license and a license to 
capture  furbearing  animals  for  domestication,  the  furbearing 
animals do not have to be killed at the trap site. 

 
Section  12.    Use  of  Dogs.    Persons  possessing  a  valid 

furbearing  animal  trapping    license  may  use  dogs  to  take 
bobcats during the bobcat hunting or trapping season. 

 
Section  13.    Trap  Identification  Numbers.    All  traps  and 

snares  used  for  furbearing  or  predatory  animals  shall  be 
permanently marked or  tagged with  the name and address of 
the  owner  or  the  trap  identification  number  assigned  to  the 
owner by the Department.   

 
(a)    A  person may  apply  for  a  trap  identification  number 

from the Department.   Each  individual shall be  issued only one 
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(1)  trap  identification number  for  the  life of  the  trapper.   Trap 
identification numbers shall be transferable from one (1) person 
to another only upon completion of an application and approval 
by the Department. 

 
(b)  Trap  identification  numbers  shall  consist  of  the  prefix 

WY,  followed by  the  last  two  (2) digits of  the calendar year  in 
which the number is issued, followed by a number generated by 
the Department.  A hyphen shall separate the three (3) portions 
of  the  number.    For  example,  the  first  trap  identification 
number  issued  in  calendar  year  2001  shall  be  WY‐01‐001.  
Numbers shall be legible, at least one‐eighth (1/8) inch in height 
and affixed  to  traps  in  such a manner as  to  read  left  to  right.  
The trap identification number shall be stamped on the trap or 
on a metal tag that is affixed to the trap.    

 
(c) Application for a trap identification number shall include 

the full name and complete home address of the applicant and 
shall  be  submitted  on  a  form  provided  by  the  Department.  
Applications  shall be  submitted  to  the Wildlife Division, at  the 
Headquarters  Office  of  the  Wyoming  Game  and  Fish 
Department. 

 
(d)  Any  person  who  has  obtained  a  trap  identification 

number      shall     notify      the     Department     by      telephoning  
(307) 777‐4686 within thirty (30) days of any change in address. 

 

        WYOMING GAME AND FISH COMMISSION 
 
 
    By:    _________________________________ 
                                    Charles C. Price, President 
 

Dated:  July 10, 2015 
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The Wyoming Game and Fish Department receives federal financial assistance in Sport Fish 
and Wildlife Restoration.   Under  Title VI of  the 1964 Civil Rights Act,  Section 504 of  the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title  II of  the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990,  the Age 
Discrimination Act of 1975,  and  Title  IX  of  the  Education Amendments  of 1972,  the U.S. 
Department  of  the  Interior  prohibits  discrimination  on  the  basis  of  race,  color,  national 
origin, age, sex or disability.  If you believe that you have been discriminated against in any 
program, activity, or facility as described above or if you desire further information, please 
write to: 
 

Department of Interior—U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service—Division of Human Resources 
4401 North Fairfax Drive—Mail stop: 2000—Arlington, Virginia 22203 

 
Contact Information 

In State  
Toll‐Free # 

Out‐of‐State  
Phone # 

Cheyenne Headquarters  1‐800‐842‐1934   1‐307‐777‐4600 

Casper Regional Office  1‐800‐233‐8544   1‐307‐473‐3400 

Cody Regional Office  1‐800‐654‐1178   1‐307‐527‐7125 

Green River Regional Office  1‐800‐843‐8096   1‐307‐875‐3223 

Jackson Regional Office  1‐800‐423‐4113   1‐307‐733‐2321 

Lander Regional Office  1‐800‐654‐7862   1‐307‐332‐2688 

Laramie Regional Office  1‐800‐843‐2352   1‐307‐745‐4046 

Pinedale Regional Office  1‐800‐452‐9107   1‐307‐367‐4353 

Sheridan Regional Office  1‐800‐331‐9834   1‐307‐672‐7418 

For more information and materials call:  1‐307‐777‐4600 or visit the 
Department website.     

DONATE  
TO ACCESS YES 

 
The Access Yes Program  

provides hunting and fishing  
access to nearly 2.8 million  
acres.  Every dollar donated  

to Access Yes equals 3.5 acres  
of access for YOU!  Donate today by 
calling (307) 777‐4600 or when you 

purchase or apply for licenses.   
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Out-of-State (1-307-777-4330) 

(1-877-943-3847)  

Submit Tip Online:  http://wgfd.wyo.gov/law-enforcement/stop-poaching 
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WGFD  
and message 

to  
TIP411  

(847-411) 

Report All  
Wildlife Violations! 


