CASPER - Wyoming hunters needing to fill the state’s hunter education requirement will now have the option of taking a new state approved online hunter education course.
The course brings new technologies and enhancements for students through Kalkomey Enterprises, Inc. and Hunter-ed.com.
“The Hunter-ed.com course features interactive content, Wyoming specific content, and videos that are designed to be engaging while presenting important safety information,” said Game and Fish hunter education coordinator, Jim Dawson. “The lessons and these short videos cover safety topics such as hunting safety, firearm safety, hunting from a ground blind, effectiveness of blaze orange, and all topics required in a standard Wyoming hunter education course.”
Dawson said that Hunter-ed.com’s Wyoming course will teach the same state-approved content that is used in traditional classes so students can expect a high-quality education online. “The new videos and the ability to take the course on multiple devices, including smartphones, make this a great option for those Wyoming students who have busy schedules and can’t make the traditional course, Dawson said.”
Dawson emphasized that students will still need to complete the hands-on Internet Field Day before they can earn their hunter education card.
Those considering obtaining their hunter education certification via the online hunter education course should do the following:
1. Check the WGFD website to determine whether a traditional hunter education class or the new online hunter education course is right for them. wgfd.wyo.gov.
2. Complete the online hunter education course at hunter-ed.com/Wyoming and print off a completion voucher. Students choosing the online hunter education course pay hunter-ed.com a fee of $19.50 to print a voucher. Students may need to pay up to $10 to the internet field day assessor to cover field day supplies.
3. Check the Course Listing Schedule to see which internet field day fits into personal schedules. The schedules for all hunter education classes are posted on wgfd.wyo.gov.
4. Register for an internet field day while on the WGFD’s website. Registration for all hunter education classes and internet field days now requires a sportsman identification number (SPID). Creation of a SPID asks for first name, last name, date of birth, last four digits of your social security number, Email, and home address.
5. Attendance at the Internet Field Day to complete the entrance exam, firearms handling assessment, and final exam.
6. Upon completion of Internet Field Day requirements a certificate of completion (valid for two weeks) is issued. A visit to the Game and Fish website after two weeks allow students to print a permanent hunter education card.
The Game and Fish will continue to offer the traditional hunter education classes taught by certified volunteers and Game and Fish employees. Game and Fish recommends that younger students participate in a traditional class as they will have the opportunity to engage with hands-on activities and create relationships with Game and Fish staff and knowledgeable hunter education instructors.
Wyoming law requires anyone born on or after January 1, 1966 to complete hunter education prior to taking any wildlife with a firearm, with exceptions for those hunting on family lands or for those enrolled in the Hunter Mentor Program.
Kalkomey Enterprises, Inc., parent company of hunter-ed.com, is an official provider of recreational safety education materials for all 50 states. An American company based in Dallas, Texas, Kalkomey produces print and Internet courses that have provided official safety certification since 1995. Kalkomey offers safety courses in boating, hunting, bowhunting, and off-road vehicle and snowmobile operation. For more information, visit www.kalkomey.com
For more information or to register for one of Wyoming’s hunter education courses, please visit the Game and Fish website at wgfd.wyo.gov and click on education.
(Contact: Jim Dawson (307) 473-3400 or Joetta Osborn (307) 777-4538)