- SERVING PEOPLE -
CHEYENNE - Even though the fall hunting seasons are still several months away, the Wyoming Game and Fish Department is reminding hunters that now is a good time to take a hunter safety course in preparation for the upcoming hunting seasons.
Wyoming law requires anyone born after 1965 to have hunter education before going hunting. Hunter Education Coordinator Jim Dawson said it is quite common for prospective hunters to call up and want to get into a hunter education course only several weeks before their planned hunting trip.
“It is usually impossible to get a course completed in such a short time frame,” Dawson said. “A minimum of 12 hours is required for coursework, and depending on class availability and the class schedule set up by the instructors, it is not realistic to assume everything will always work out to get into a class and get it completed with only a few days of advance preparation.”
Dawson said hunters who have not used the hunter mentor program yet do have that option to go hunting, but cautioned hunters that a hunter can only participate in the program for one year. “Those hunters that were mentored under the program last year will need to take a hunter safety class to go hunting this year,” Dawson said.
The mentor program has been available to Wyoming hunters since 2008. Under the program, hunters who have not had hunter education are allowed to go hunting for one year provided they are with a mentor at least 18 years of age that has completed an approved hunter safety course. The mentor must possess a valid hunter education card showing completion of the course while in the field with the hunter being mentored. Authorization forms to participate in the hunter mentor program can be obtained from Game and Fish offices or on the website at wgfd.wyo.gov. Hover over “Education,”then click on the “Hunter Mentor Program.” Information on upcoming courses is also listed on the Game and Fish website.
(Contact: Al Langston (307) 777-4540)