- SERVING PEOPLE -
As with bighorn sheep, drawing a license requires more than a little bit of luck. Once a permit is drawn, hunter success is very high, 100 percent in most years. The Beartooth Mountains encompass some wilderness while the Palisades area is non-wilderness, allowing do-it-yourself hunts for the nonresident. There are no preference points for mountain goats since Wyoming law limits a hunter to one mountain goat license in a lifetime. Mountain goats must be checked and registered at a regional office or at the Cheyenne office within 15 days of harvest.
(a) Any person harvesting a mountain goat in Wyoming shall within fifteen (15) consecutive days following the harvest present the skull plate and horns for registration. Any person harvesting a mountain goat shall register the harvested mountain goat in person at one of the following Game and Fish Department Offices Monday through Friday, excluding legal holidays, 8:00 a.m. -12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
|Game and Fish Department||Location||In State Toll-Free Number|
|Green River Region||Green River||1-800-843-8096|
(b) Any person who makes a false statement on the registration form regarding the date the mountain goat was taken or the hunt area in which it was taken shall be in violation of this regulation. Such violation shall be punishable as provided by Title 23, Wyoming Statutes, for violation of Commission regulations.