Visit Our YouTube Page Follow Us on Facebook
Wyoming.gov | Citizen | Business | Government | Visitor
Wyoming Game and Fish Header Image
HOME >> NEWS >> JANUARY NEWS RELEASES >> 2014 >> JANUARY 15
New Wild Bison License Regulations for 2014

1/15/2014

JACKSON - With many hunters now applying for their 2014 big game hunting licenses, the Wyoming Game and Fish Department alerts applicants of some changes specific to wild bison.

Starting this year, applicants are required to submit the full license fee at the time of application. The license fees for a Wyoming resident are $263 for a female/calf wild bison and $413 for the “any wild bison” (meaning bull, cow or calf) license. The nonresident license fees are $1,022 for a female/calf wild bison and $2,522 for an any wild bison license.

In past years bison applicants were drawn for position on a priority list and did not pay for the license until notified.The application deadline is Feb. 28, along with moose, bighorn sheep and mountain goat. Tentative draw results for wild bison licenses is May 9.

Starting with the upcoming 2014-2015 season, due to a change in state law, any hunter who is issued an any wild bison license and harvests a bull, will not be eligible to apply for or receive that same license in the future. Those hunters would be eligible, though, to apply for and receive a female/calf wild bison license the following year.

If a hunter harvests a female or calf wild bison on their any wild bison license, they will be ineligible to apply for or receive a female/calf wild bison license in the next five years. Those hunters can apply for and receive an any wild bison license the following year.

And finally, any hunter who harvests a female or calf wild bison on a female/calf wild bison license, shall be ineligible to apply for any type of wild bison license – any or female/calf wild bison – for the next five years.

All 2014 hunting license applications are required to be submitted online via the Department’s website. Each Game and Fish regional office has a computer and personnel available to assist with the electronic license application process. Applicants are reminded to make sure to correctly enter their mailing address in order to receive their license or refund.

“For many, receiving one of the highly coveted Wyoming big game hunting licenses is as thrilling as winning a lottery,” said Tim Fuchs, Jackson/Pinedale Region Wildlife Division supervisor. “With so much on the line, it is important for hunters to begin the application process early, so that any questions or mistakes can be addressed well before the application deadline arrives.”

The new bison license regulations are posted on the Game and Fish website. Hunters with questions are encouraged to call the Game and Fish at (307) 777-4600.

(Contact: Mark Gocke (307) 733-2321)

-WGFD-











HOME | WILDLIFE AGENCIES | PRIVACY POLICY | SEARCH THE STATE OF WYOMING

Wyoming Game & Fish Department Headquarters
5400 Bishop Blvd. Cheyenne, WY 82006
ph: (307) 777-4600
Email address for comments/questions regarding our website: wgfdwebmaster@wyo.gov

Copyright ©2013